We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed”
Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Crookham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Met our family here for a meal. Very nice barmaid. Food great. Service good. Will be back as very clean and great decor

1  Thank Bigdaddy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only stayed for an evening meal, but we were well attended to and we were served good food and wine.

Thank yoda_ckte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called at the Blue Bell in May 2018 intending to eat there. At 8.25 pm a woman behind the bar stated that we should be OK to get a meal, but she would speak with the chef. Having enquired of the kitchen and bar manager she then stated to us that the kitchen was closed for the evening, a full 35-minutes earlier than advertised.

The only thing that EPOS would indicate is that presumably meals were being prepared and served to other customers after this, especially if the kitchen is in "full flow" until 9.00 pm and staffed until 10.30 pm. The time-keeping records of the chefs are irrelevant - we were quite simply refused service 35-minutes before the kitchen was advertised as closing! There were also plenty of spare seats around the pub, so presumably we were being disdainfully treated as "Walk-ins.".

I would also stress that the evening we were refused service was DEFINITELY NOT the evening when there was a car accident close to the Blue Bell & an air Ambulance was called as the chefs gave assistance! Although I can however appreciate sensitivities particularly relating to accidents near the Blue Bell going back to September 30, 2015.

When we had called previously and actually succeeded in obtaining a meal at the Blue Bell. We were served by the bar manager, who enquired as to whether we would be eating with them that evening. He then served us a large glass of wine and pint of beer. He took the cash payment & after what I can only describe as an inordinate amount of time, somewhat bizarrely shielding the till with his body but not opening it & writing something at length to the left -hand side of the till, he presented me with what I had to assume was the correct change as he definitely did not provide any receipt! He then suggested that we sit in a quieter part of the bar for no apparent reason at that point. The meal was of a reasonable pub standard, but we had to query a charge of £2 for tomato sauce that we had definitely not ordered, but was stated to always be provided. Obviously this hidden surcharge increases the price of a pizza by £2.

When the bill was presented to my partner the drinks ordered and paid for earlier mysteriously made an appearance, even though no similar drinks were ordered with the meal! The charges for drinks that we had not even had were unapologetically removed, but the circumstances indicated that this was quite probably a pattern of behaviour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TonyFrank308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The menu looked inviting so called in to book a table for later in the week. Our actual visit for our evening meal not so good. Firstly we found it hard to even get close enough to the bar to announce we had arrived - this probably should have alerted us to the fact they were busy. Our table was booked for 7.30pm on a Thursday night. The starters did not arrive for another hour! I almost fell asleep waiting but the happy (extremely loud) crowd next to us kept me awake! The main courses arrived quicker about 20 mins after we had completed our starters. But when we had finished those our party couldn't bear the thought of still being at the table past 10 o'clock waiting for the sweets so we paid and left. At no time during the evening did any staff member offer an apology for the wait or even return to ask if our meal was satisfactory. If your kitchen cannot cope with the demand then at least have the decency to alert your customers there may be a delay - and why not provide a bread basket/olives as recompense. A real shame as the food was of good value and the menu varied and tasty.

Thank OnSafariAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Superbly decorated makes you feel very welcome.
Staff are friendly.
Great selection of good and drink.

Thank lolapops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBTD12, Owner at The Blue Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed a brilliant burger, and the staff were welcoming and friendly. I am also pleased to hear your comments on the decor, it's much brighter now with some really nice features to make it interesting and keeping the traditional character of this old coaching inn. We had some great local trades people work on the renovation, I am sure they too are pleased people like the results.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Bell when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Cornhill-on-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Milfield, Northumberland
Lowick, Northumberland
 
Cornhill-on-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing