We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!”
Review of The Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunstan Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage Inn
West Lothian
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had originally booked for two nights, however, left after one night. On arrival we were shown to room which smelt of dampness and this was confirmed by wallpaper peeling from walls. The sealant around bath was black with mould and the toilet flush was missing, also the light switch cord in bathroom was so filthy that we wouldn't use without protecting our hands. Generally, the bedroom and public areas were shabby and unkempt.There was no sound proofing whatsoever between bedrooms!!!

The final straw was the evening meal - ordered Poachers Pot - wouldn't feed to a dog! Overcooked and tasteless and price did not reflect quality. When we complained, we were offered same meal - no alternative! The waiting staff informed us after they had discussed with chef that he agreed it had been overcooked, however no alternative meal offered as replacement!
No management or chef came to ask us why we complained and we were told by waiting staff this is the first complaint they have had ,which I find very hard to believe due to both the food and the condition of surrounding dining areas.We were there for a meal on a Saturday night and waited for almost 20 minutes before anyone came and took our order then we were waiting approx 25 mins before we were served our disgusting meal ,We were very disappointed with both the meal and the room when we said we were checking out a day early no one questioned the reason .We spoke to whom we thought was Manageress or owner and she just shrugged us off and said girl at reception would process our bill.
In all my years of dealing with customers I would never treat a customer in this way ,we therefore feel that the management and staff of this Inn should do a course on customer service which I m sure they would benefit from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    77
    44
    18
    21
See reviews for
61
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The bedroom was clean and well furnished. Shower was a bit slow in producing hot water, but it got there eventually. Not quite as gushing as I would like after a long walk!

Breakfast was rather ordinary. They had one of those serve yourself conveyor belt toasting machines, next to which was an oblong block of bread in a polythene bag. Not the most appetising approach. Coffee was slightly lacking in coffee taste too. And there was no butter to be seen - I expect the waitress would have got me some, but it was this lack of attention to detail that let the place down.

There was no hairdryer in the bedroom, and no folder of local information. If they have wifi, they are not letting on.

Nothing wrong with this place, but one night was enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvocadoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went in by chance for an evening meal, the place was full of locals and holidaymakers and the general ambience was good!

We ordered the Fish Mornay dish with salad and chips, my wife had the small version and I went for the large both with salad and chips.

The meal appeared promptly, piping hot and in a word terrific!

Will go back again when next in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TFox666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently stayed here as part of a party of 12. This is our second visit and we found that standards had gone down a bit. The owner was away and had left a family member in charge who obviously did not have the same caring personality! The food was excellent and very well served. Everyone's meal came together so the kitchen and serving staff were "on the ball". The rooms were comfortable but chilly when we arrived. When the heating finally came on then we soon warmed up but our towel rail didn't work and when we brought this to the attention of the acting manager twice. he could not have cared less! However we had two very disturbed nights of sleep with noise inside and outside until the early hours of the morning and this spoilt our stay. Must say though very good value for money in view of the March offer on the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here Sunday 2 and Monday 3 March 2014 as part of a group of 16. We had taken up the deal - purchase breakfast (£9.95) and evening meal (£8 - 12) and the room is £5pppn.
Rooms are at the rear of the pub overlooking the extensive lawned and wooded grounds, full of snowdrops during our stay. Our room was simply furnished but perfectly adequate and had a generous supply of tea and coffee and even biscuits. It was clean. Bathroom came with complimentary soap, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner etc. Rooms are on ground floor so no access problems.
The real bonus here proved to be the meals - starters (at around £5) would shame main courses at some posher, pricier establishments. These huge starters were totally eclipsed by the mains which were of monumental proportions and amazing value at £8 - 12 mostly ( some meals had the option of smaller portions for less money). Considering that there were 16 in our group all ordering different meals there was little wait and everything arrived together - an excellent result. It wasn't just the size of the meals that impressed - everything was cooked to perfection and very nicely presented and served - no one had any complaints. Our bill for a couple with 2 nights accommodation , 2 very full cooked breakfasts, 2 enormous evening meals with starters and puds - £103 - brilliant value.
If you're exploring this part of the Northumberland coast this is an excellent place to stay. Craster is a 15 minute stroll. A walk north past Dunstanburgh Castle (English Heritage) and along the beach to Low Newton (good pub) takes 2-3 hours and can easily be extended to Beadnell or even Seahouses - catch the bus back - stops outside Cottage Inn. Or walk south to Howick Hall with it's lovely grounds and arboretum (and famous tea room) then exit on to the beach and back to Craster. Holy Island is a half hour drive up the A1.
Stay here if you appreciate good food, good value and a brilliant location - don't bother if you are used to overpriced, designer nosh and a room complete with trouser press.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank him_n_her_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our choice for dinner on our first night in the area (the B&B we chose does not offer full board). It was a very quiet monday night in early march, so not a lot of customers and we were offered our choice of a table in the restaurant or the bar. We chose the bar as the restaurant is a large room in a newer construction in the back with a lot less atmosphere than the original bar area. We also got to join in the pub quiz which just happened to be that night.
My starter included a substance referred to as kipper custard, which I couldn't resist but it wasn't worth the anticipation - seemed like it had been frozen and the components had separated out. The rest of the food was good, though, and for the price (35 quid) would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyjamaslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

we stayed at the cottage in on a winter break deal - 4 nights, my husband and I & the dog - his first holiday away.
We had a lovely stay, the people were friendly, the food was good, the place was clean, lovely grounds and we had a good, quiet nights sleep. I would recommend these deals - great value for money. One small point - would have liked daily/or two day change of towels, but I'm sure if I had asked, they would have done so.
Great areas around for walks & visits. Most shops/pubs welcomed the dog too which was great.
Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstan Village
2.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
496 reviews
5.7 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#3 of 8 in Beadnell
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: | Northumberland Coast AONB, 5 The Village, Dunstan Village, Alnwick NE66 3SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Dunstan Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunstan Village
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest accommodation (all en-suite), traditional bar, separate restaurant & conservatory, large beer garden & car park. Set in 5 acres of woodland garden. Within walking distance of the pretty fishing village of Craster and the fantastic ruins of Dunstanburgh castle. Ideal for a relaxing short break. We offer well appointed rooms with good quality locally sourced food including lobster when available and excellent real ales. Free wifi in public areas. Dog friendly bar & accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Dunstan Village
The Cottage Inn Dunstan Village, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing