We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of The Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunstan Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage Inn
London/Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Came across this Inn whilst looking for a place to have dinner. Large dining room, separate bar, plenty of outside space and very secluded in woodland.

Food was excellent - generous portions and well presented. Desserts in particular were superb. Our waiter warmed up during the evening and we left feeling very contented.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    77
    44
    18
    21
See reviews for
61
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cottage Inn - five nights in a dog-friendly room. Great value. Service: Very friendly and helpful. Location: Handy for Craster and exploring the region. Large garden (great for dogs). Bar: Welcoming atmosphere and local history. Room: Good size and clean. Very noisy extractor fan in the bathroom (tip - use the mirror light!) and the soundproofing could be better, as we could hear our neighbours... but nothing we couldn't cope with. Food: Simple and comforting - better for winter than summer, but we enjoyed what we had, on the whole. Dogs allowed everywhere but the restaurant. Wi-fi in the bar but not the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here on night 2 of our 4 night/5 day walking trip to Berwick-upon-Tweed. Lovely rooms, all clean and well equipped. Our evening meals were fantastic in both quality and price. The bar/pub was very lively and we had live music later in the evening.. £85 B & B .. would definitely come back for another night here...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jowettdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on our walk along the Northumbrian Coastal Path. It is a pub in a small hamlet. Our room was basic but was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We even had a proper bath which was great after a full day hiking. We had dinner in the pub which was really good and breakfast was very tasty. They went out of their way to prepare porridge the way we both like it. The staff are helpful and we would stay here again. The location is about a mile walk from Craster.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in June 2014 and were made very welcome by all the staff. The food was excellent and the room was clean although at times the hot water was a bit cold which was explained by the manager as a number of hikers all arrived and wanted showers at the same time. After half an hour it was fine. Good value for money -lovely walks on beaches near-by and definitely dog friendly

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar but only really big enough for 1 large dog (Labrador size)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The food was good but the rest was overrated. The room was shabby and in need of a makeover.
There was no hot water in the morning either.
Nice location in some woodland but that isn't enough to justify staying here

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Stonecroft B/B and The Cottage was very close.,They had some real ales on and the main bar was very busy. A member of staff found us a table in the Hotspur room.I can truthfully say the Sea Food Monay with fresh veg was a taste sensation. Theres a good selection of vegatarian meals (5). We ate there the following night and had a good size Fish and chips. The staff were run off there feet on the Saturday night , so the service was a bit slow but they never stopped smiling.The down side was the smoke from the kitchens could have done with a bigger fan. My advice is get there early and book a table when you get there. ENJOY!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank biddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstan Village
2.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
514 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,020 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: | Northumberland Coast AONB, 5 The Village, Dunstan Village, Alnwick NE66 3SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Dunstan Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunstan Village
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest accommodation (all en-suite), traditional bar, separate restaurant & conservatory, large beer garden & car park. Set in 5 acres of woodland garden. Within walking distance of the pretty fishing village of Craster and the fantastic ruins of Dunstanburgh castle. Ideal for a relaxing short break. We offer well appointed rooms with good quality locally sourced food including lobster when available and excellent real ales. Free wifi in public areas. Dog friendly bar & accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Dunstan Village
The Cottage Inn Dunstan Village, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing