We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Tankerville Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tankerville Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Eglingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just had 2 nights in the Suite at the Tankerville Arms, Eglingham. Everything about it was superb. The accommodation (spacious and spotless), the location (set in a lovely village), the food (ate in the comfortable and friendly bar due to having a large but very well behaved dog!), the beer garden and the most helpful and welcoming hosts. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The suite is very stylish and roomy but the other 2 rooms are also very smart, and all spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We visted the Tankerville Arms after reading reviews about it but were quite disappointed, The food was very average and it was quite expensive too. We both expected more and although the pub looks lovely and is smart inside we didnt think it had a nice atmosphere. Shame but wouldnt return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ElaineA168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Had a lovely meal here last night in an amazing setting. Sausages and Pork Belly were both absolutely delicious..we couldn't have asked for more! I would recommend a visit here. The dining room was lovely as was the at where we had our meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suffolkangel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent one night in the delightful"French" room here - it was full of charm and thoughtful touches with a very comfortable bed and peaceful location. The lovely, modern bathroom with bath/shower was across the passage but this was no problem, especially as towelling robes are provided. Both the dinner and breakfast that we had were excellent, hot and well served by pleasant staff. If we ever go back to Alnwick, this is where we would choose to stay.

Room Tip: French room was charming and separate bathroom no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexbelle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were staying close by and when we walked in the staff were very friendly and the decor & atmosphere was lovely with plenty of locals.
On our first visit we all enjoyed our meals I had the pork belly which was really delicious, only complaint was from our daughter who found her sausages a bit cold but overall we were satisfied.
The second time we ate there wasn't as successful,we sat in the bar & ordered, the couple next to us ordered after us and had their starter & mains before us! My husband had the pork which again was very good, my daughter & I had pan fried salmon & pasta, mine was burnt but I was so hungry I ate it but had to have some of my daughters pasta as I had about a spoonful and she had a bowl full! The plates were also cold which I find very annoying but maybe that's just a pet hate of mine. I would have mentioned it to the staff but they didn't come near once the meal was served (another pet hate) I felt that given the cost of the meals (not cheap) that things could have been better but maybe our expectations were a bit too high.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is our second visit with our dog to the Tankerville Arms.
We booked the suite which is furnished and equipped to a standard way above most country hostelries and indeed many "top hotels".Little touches like the hand wrapped soaps in the bathroom do not go unnoticed.

George and Mary the owners are superb hosts and make one so welcome.Breakfast is excellent as are the bar meals.Extra gravy was brought when requested.These can be eaten in the bar where one can sit with the dog so a perfect set up for us.We will be back.

Room Tip: All seem to be good just go with what you feel you want to pay as they are priced accordingly.A very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beechwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked a 3 night say at the Tankerville Arms in Eglingham near Alnwick Northumberland. We had a warm welcome by George & Mary the owners. We booked the suite, which was warm and homely. Everything about this stay hit our expectations. The food was excellent and cooked to the highest standards. All the staff are very helpful and always smiling. The stay was everything we wanted it to be. I can highly recommend this as a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eglingham
7.3 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
5.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
7.5 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#22 of 69 in Alnwick
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms

Address: 15 The Village, Eglingham, Alnwick NE66 2TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Eglingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eglingham
Price Range: £95 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury village inn close to Alnwick Castle and Gardens. Ideal centre for walking, fishing and cycling holidays. Close to Holy Island, Bamburgh, Hadrian's Wall, Northumbria National Park and the Cheviots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tankerville Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Eglingham
Tankerville Arms Eglingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing