We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub meal I've ever had.”
Review of Tankerville Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tankerville Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Eglingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best pub meal I've ever had.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Hereford Subday lunch which we chose to have in the restaurant (at no extra charge). The food was magnificent: smoked haddock fish cakes with two delicious salads and roast pork with all the trimmings. Unfortunately there was no way I coud fit in a dessert . Excellent beer, delicious coffee and complimentary crusty bread and butter contributed to a perfect experience.
The staff were polite and friendly and nothing was a bother. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    20
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
185
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Thanks George and Mary for a great weekend. MOST comfortable bed, best sirloin steaks, fresh sea bass, five star breakfast, best wine and beer - what more could you want. Oh yes,it's this... the best hospitality and travel advice, the most attention to detail, the nicest friendly staff and the best location in Northumberland.

Kenny, Sue and Frankie (the Jack Russell)

Room Tip: (note for the categories above, no fitness centre, the hills and the beach will do that for you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilberts757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly people, very nice staff, lovely traditional pub. The scenery of the surrounding area is quite simply stunning. Our daughter, aged 10, isn't a fan of children's menus and wanted the chicken, ham and leek pie, before we even had the chance to ask if we could order a half portion, the waitress asked if we would like that, excellent example of quality service. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We ate at this pub twice last week because we were on holiday in the area. The owner & staff were very friendly and there was no problem about bringing our dog in. The food was good & it was lovely to sit in front of a fire. The children enjoyed their burgers & I thought the salmon was nicely cooked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights recently in the suite while exploring this area, room, food and service were perfect, we couldn't fault anything and wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend it. Every detail had been thought out and the owners couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: The suite is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Me and my partner spent 3 nights at this lovely inn. We stayed in The Suite which was simply wonderful. Every detail about it had been carefully thought out down to the real milk in the fridge!
We ate in the restaurant the three nights we were there and the the food was really good. Service was first class and very friendly. We would recommend staying and eating here without any hesitation.

Room Tip: The Suite is very large and comforatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCS
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This Pub is just the place to stay in Nortumberland. The Room was very spacious, very clean ,the large bed was very comfortable & the bathroom similar.
We were very well looked after my the owners george & Mary whose attention to detail was most impressive. The Pub area iteslf is very comfortable and the food is good value. An excellent breakfast to send us on our way, would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POTATO PROTECTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eglingham
5.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
14.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
7.5 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 67 in Alnwick
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms

Property: Tankerville Arms
Address: 15 The Village, Eglingham, Alnwick NE66 2TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Eglingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eglingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury village inn close to Alnwick Castle and Gardens. Ideal centre for walking, fishing and cycling holidays. Close to Holy Island, Bamburgh, Hadrian's Wall, Northumbria National Park and the Cheviots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tankerville Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Eglingham
Tankerville Arms Eglingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing