We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tankerville Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
225
21
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
21
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench roomthe pubattention to detailhuge bedgold roomincluding breakfastbeer gardenprivate bathroomsewing kitthree roomsexclusive usesky tvlovely atmospheredvd playera real gemold friendshome from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were made very welcome by owner George and his team a very friendly host who makes you feel very welcome you feel this inn cares about it customers we stayed in the gold room there are so many touches and attention to detail is second to none this an olde traditional inn very clean beautiful outside garden at dinner and breakfast we were made very welcome food lovely quiet inn in lovely spot

Room Tip: Gold room is lovely
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just back today from a five night break in the Tankerville Arms. A big thank you to George, Mary and all the staff for their friendly and attentive service. Food was first class; fresh, tasty and always piping hot. Some reviewers have made negative comments on the furnishings and decor but please bear in mind this was originally a coaching inn and has maintained the character of a bygone age. Everything was spotlessly clean and the extras in the room put many high class hotel chains to shame. My wife and I stayed in the gold room and found it wanting for nothing. Would I go back? Yes without any hesitation.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, the gold room is the only one with an en suite bath
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had an evening meal here. The staff are friendly and the place is clean and tidy, but we weren't bowled over. The decor is dated (I don't mean olde-worlde charm, I just mean old-fashioned) and although the food was hot and freshly-cooked it was not very inspiring. On the plus side, the steaks were cooked rare just as we asked. On the negative side, the chips had a faint whiff of oil that perhaps needed changing. So not a disaster, but we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stephen and I stayed for 2 nights in the suite. This has been such a lovely relaxing 2 days . George and Mary and all there staff have made this a complete joy...The food was outstanding ...Could not fault any of this holiday...Many thanks to you all....xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the moment of arrival and being welcomed by George, this was one of the best short breaks my wife and I have had. The room was very comfortable, we were in the French room which had been very stylishly furnished. The food was excellent and the staff could not have been friendlier nor more accommodating; everything was done with a smile, from serving drinks and food to recommending places to visit in the area. Add to this the magnificent local scenery ranging from the coast and into the Cheviots. Close to perfect; we will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HW9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews