We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

The Tankerville Arms Eglingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Eglingham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Narberth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A great welcome from George, a beautiful room, and food to die for.....this is a fantastic hostelry.
We recently spent 3 nights here. And would have no hesitation to stay again. Mary and George are lovely people, and their staff are a credit to them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great pub, good food, good beer, friendly, helpful staff
We sat to left of fireplace in bar and wanted to take the bronze hare away with us !!!!!
Properly recommended!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely ambience, service was fine, terrible food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The burgers, ordered "medium" and "medium-rare" were cooked hard and gray through. Caesar salad with grilled chicken sounded good but was terrible: dressing was just anchovies blended with mayonnaise (no garlic, lemon or parmesan); chicken was hard as a rock - maybe left out for a week on the counter? the croutons were cold deep-fried soaked in oil... maybe we just ordered wrong!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristaCoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with a dining room”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have visited the Tankerville Arms a few times as the choice of restaurants in the locality is limited. Sunday 6th April was our third visit for Sunday lunch. The staff are friendly but when we asked for a Campari/Soda the reply was we "only have Soda". On further enquiries it transpired that they did have a bottle of Campari and we were duly served. The roast beef was served swimming in gravy - it could have passed for a stew and was accompanied with under-cooked (and I don't mean al dente) vegetables, which consisted of two servings of roast/fried potatoes. The dessert was good. Once again the bill was presented as a total figure and when asked if it could be itemised - was an impossibility. This happened last time we visited (during a three month period) and the same excuse was offered - "the till is broken". This is unacceptable and I suspect illegal. George needs to buy or get the till repaired.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank OCA_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and not at all bad”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Northumberland is not a county rich in good restaurants however The Tankerville Arms at Eglingham is a perfectly reasonable place to eat both in terms of a bar meal or in the restaurant and is obviously very popular with the locals. The service in the restaurant is very friendly and pleasant but uninformed. The food is wholesome, the vegetable soup being particularly good. The roast beef is just adequate but one is not asked how one would like it. The wine list is very limited with no vintage years given. It seems to be impossible to get a properly itemised bill, which is poor. (The Church nearby – St Maurice – is well worth a visit.)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank crablane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tankerville Arms Eglingham also viewed

 
Chatton, Northumberland
 

Been to The Tankerville Arms Eglingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing