We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Like staying with old friends'”
Review of Bamburgh View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bamburgh View
Ranked #2 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Like staying with old friends'”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Our one night stay was perfect,a big comfy bed, choice of bath/shower amazing choice for breakfast (4 types of veggie sausages) & downstairs kitchen with a fridge for guests! Beautifully clean with stunning views too!
Jamie and carol are unique hosts... friendly, helpful & informative & we felt very welcomed we would stay with them again.
So, BIG thanks for making our stay memorable!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maria50000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
204
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Carole and Jamie Morrow give the warmest and friendliest welcome to their excellently furnished, spacious and modernised home. In the heart of this magical and spiritual island (especially after the day trippers have left) -( which often includes us but not on this occasion)- Bamburgh View has so much going for it in the heart of the Island and with easy free parking very nearby. Our large room on the ground floor included a comfortable sofa and a small but beautiful shower room. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept so well, unusually for me at present! Carole seems to have thought of everything for the comfort of her guests including a large umbrella in the bedroom for use on rainy days. Breakfast was excellent with so much choice of cooked local foods and fresh strawberries and bilberries amongst the several cold foods. I believe this should be No. 1 for accommodation on Holy Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very welcoming home that put us up on our impromptu visit to the island. An incredibly spacious room with a very clean, well decorated bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful and cooked to order just how you like it. the couple that run the B+B were friendly, chatty and knowledgeable about the island. The over-night stay at Bamburgh view made our experience of the island much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and the one we stayed in was marked as "large" and it was enorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDnlhopkins .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
1,041 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is a B&B and it is very nice. If you get upstairs you get for a bit extra, a massive bathroom with a bath and great views of the Farne islands, if you get a ground floor view ask for the rear facing one as you get a nice view of the castle. The lower bedroom facing the castle is a bit cramped but you do have a nice on suite. The bed is very comfortable and the room is very quiet at night.
The breakfast is huge so the second day we ordered a smaller one. The food is nicely cooked and the hosts, Carole and Jamie are really pleasant. The place is close to most things on the island so not too much walking.

Room Tip: ground room at the back has good views of the castle and top room has a great bathroom with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to stay with parking, near hotels and pubs serving evening meals. Very friendly and helpful couple who run the B&B.
Comfortable room with tea making, internet and TV in room and big box of shortbread biscuits and excellent cooked breakfast. Fresh fruit and yoghurt as well. Spacious bathroom with view to harbour.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slippaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Bamburgh View. Carole and Jamie are great hosts and were very friendly. Our room (ground floor front) was lovely with good comfortable bed. A good tasty breakfast to set you up for the day is a must and you will get this here. I stay in a lot of hotel/guest houses for my work and my biggest moan is always poor showers. Not here. Nice and big so it accommodates the larger person with a good strong spray and hot. We love this island and plan to return. Bamburgh View will be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at bamburgh view b & b we were made very welcome and relaxed with our surroundings, our room was beautifully clean and well equipped. Breakfast was lovely especially the blueberries and strawberries, my only slight criticism is the squeaky floorboards in our bedroom and from upstairs, that said this was a very memorable stay and the island is something very different in a good way, quiet and beautiful big skies which as we were lucky enough to have good weather is amazing !!

Room Tip: Only three rooms here so imagine they would all be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
7.3 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
371 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
11.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
4.5 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#14 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburgh View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburgh View

Property: Bamburgh View
Address: Bamburgh View Fenkle Street, TD15 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated family run bed & breakfast. Serving good quality organic, fairtrade and locally sourced food wherever possible. We have two rooms on ground floor with en-suite facilities comprising Groehe showers in large walk-in cubicles, washhand basin and WC. All rooms have 32" digital flat screen freeview TV. We also have a double room on first floor with shared bathroom comprising slipper bath & Large walk-in shower. All rooms have double beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamburgh View Hotel Holy Island
Bamburgh View Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing