We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit beautiful”
Review of Lindisfarne Priory

Lindisfarne Priory
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.72*
and up
Holy Island, Alnwick Castle and Northumberland Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit beautiful”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful scenery castle worth a visit. Take the time to explore the island - check out the tide times first.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jancarol596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,257
    535
    166
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egham
Level Contributor
633 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon spent here”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Had a nice time in Lindisfarne, the safe period was between 12.00 and 20.00 today. We walked from the car park to the castle which was an easy stroll. Very useful to have the use of a free locker whilst inside. The castle was interesting and well laid out. There were NT volunteers there who were wildlife experts. They had very powerful telescopes for viewing the seals on a sandbank. We would never have known they were there without their guidance. Also learnt about fulmar birds and saw a pair, one in a nest in a wall. We took the shuttle bus back which is a useful extra for just £1. The cafés in the village were either busy or not that special. Was hoping to find a pretty tearoom. A pleasant afternoon spent here and still felt peaceful despite it being quite busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely but too crowded”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently spent a good half day on Lindisfarne. We were very lucky with the weather as it was glorious, however considering it was a week day early July and schools still open the castle was very crowded. If you want to walk though you can escape the crowds. We the went to the village and it wasn't too crowded there. We had a lovely lunch at The Manor Hotel and bought some lovely artwork. Overall a wonderful experience and I have left several things to go back for another time, more off season and hope it isn't quite so crowded. Definitely worth a visit but do be prepared for crowds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lady Flavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomson, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spent the whole day on Holy Island”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

You have to watch the tide charts to be sure you can get on and off the island safely, but we went pretty soon after the causeway was safe to travel and stayed all day. Wonderful sights and sounds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank willmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Picturesque Village & Castle..........Holy Island!"”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Holy Island is an island and picturesque village. The tip of the island is where Lindisfarne Castle stands in all it's majesty. Very photogenic! Lindisfarne village is something to see, so make sure to make a day of it! There are neat little shops to explore and great fish-n-chips!! Enjoy!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WPS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lindisfarne Priory also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Northumberland, England
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to Lindisfarne Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing