We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, small restaurant but lovely food”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Holy Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, small restaurant but lovely food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Tried this out one night during our stay and were not disappointed. Restaurant is small but has a great nautical atmosphere - service good. Being a pub meant there was a wide range of drinks and service was friendly and welcoming. Had a melted brie salad which was delicious as a starter, and a local beef and ale pie with chips and peas as a main, while my wife had a vegetarian curry. Both mains were delicious - my beef dish had an extremely generous amount of filling in the pie, and mean that I was totally full after eating it - absolutely no room to try the desserts

Thoroughly reccomended

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    136
    46
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice as a pub”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We'd booked a table in advance which was good as it was viking weekend. It's a good little pub (I enjoyed my pint) but the food was standard pub fare and a little pricey for what you get. Still the service was excellent and it does what it says on the tin!

Helpful?
Thank seftondiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A drink with the locals”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped here on the way to Bamburgh , my daughter and son in law had been here. It is a great stop by the sea, to have a drink or food. It is truly a place to mingle with the locals. The pub atmosphere made it think we should stay longer. People brought their dogs, made us feel a little like we were going back in time. well worth a stop!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for fish and chips”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Amazing fresh fish for the fish and chips in lovely batter with nice thick chips. The service was wonderful, the waiters and waitresses were very helpful and kind, always checking up on us and making sure all was ok. Lovely atmosphere there as well. In summer it was very important to book from the morning because everywhere got fully booked really quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice Pub With Good Food.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited here yesterday and got there at opening time at noon. Place is really cosy with helpful and cheerful staff. We had fish n chips, crab cakes and chicken fingers and found them all to be delicious. Toilets were spotless too ! Will visit this place again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveTracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Holy Island, Northumberland
 
Holy Island, Northumberland
Holy Island, Northumberland
 
Holy Island, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing