We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swamped - and no food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Holy Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Swamped - and no food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This might have been a lovely place to have lunch, but it's impossible to know as it had stopped serving food shortly after 1pm on a week-day! Lindisfarne is lovely but deluged with tourists, who are funnelled onto the island at particular times due to the tides. We came here on a sunny day, and were told they were taking on no more new orders for food due to the wait already being close to an hour. We avoided the packed beer garden and had a quiet pint indoors instead, and walked towards the castle where a fish and chip van enabled us to picnic on the grass! If you hope to visit The Ship, make sure you arrive very early and/or book, otherwise your plans may be scuppered...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finzi_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    130
    44
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good beer garden but a bit close to kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good beer garden with the view but smell of chips frying from kitchen a bit off putting. Not a great selection of beer or food. Very busy doing the day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No food at the inn.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

No food at the inn.

Holy island has a lack of places to eat & you should try to have plans or have your own food to eat when you get there. We were told that there were three pubs to eat in, we walked to each of them. The first one was closed for a private function, the second one was not serving food & then the third one ......

We entered this small pub at around 6.30pm on a Sunday night having cycled 60 miles & looking for food.

The friendly young barman told us that unfortunately they were fully booked for the evening & that this was because of a lack of food on the island. We said that's okay & explained that we'd cycled 60 miles. We asked that if there was any food left at the end of service we would be glad to eat anything at all i.e. whatever they had left, but understood if there wasn't. He said if we waited until 8pm he would 'see what he could do'.

Numerous people were turned away from the pub with the reason given of 'there is no food'.

About 7.30pm four young people came into the bar & ordered some drinks from what looked like the elderly loud spoken owner of the pub. They asked 'is there any chance of four bowls of chips?', to which the elderly chap said "yes, sit outside, there are loads of chips left". He then asked the young barman to organise the chips for them. I then heard the young barman tell the owner about my friend & I at the bar & the fact that 'we were waiting for the prospect of any food' .... to which I heard the owner say something about the four people being 'islanders'.

The elderly owner then went out into the garden to the four people, when he came back in, we called him over ... he looked at us, heard us .... but ignored us - very friendly.

The four people were then served with bowls of chips & what looked like chicken.

After this we asked the barman again .... he said he'd see what he could do & came back with a small bowl of chips for us to share.

To summarise, the issue here is not that the pub had a lack of food or that the chef did not want to cook anymore food - we would have been fine with that as we were pre-warned when we walked into the pub. The issue is that we'd been waiting for over one & a half hours for the prospect of some food & then four 'islanders' walked in (they hadn't pre-booked') & were promptly served a large amount of food ... & after two hours we got a small bowl of chips to share.

This was very poor customer service.

Disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MrSmith123a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, small restaurant but lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Tried this out one night during our stay and were not disappointed. Restaurant is small but has a great nautical atmosphere - service good. Being a pub meant there was a wide range of drinks and service was friendly and welcoming. Had a melted brie salad which was delicious as a starter, and a local beef and ale pie with chips and peas as a main, while my wife had a vegetarian curry. Both mains were delicious - my beef dish had an extremely generous amount of filling in the pie, and mean that I was totally full after eating it - absolutely no room to try the desserts

Thoroughly reccomended

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice as a pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We'd booked a table in advance which was good as it was viking weekend. It's a good little pub (I enjoyed my pint) but the food was standard pub fare and a little pricey for what you get. Still the service was excellent and it does what it says on the tin!

Helpful?
Thank seftondiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Holy Island, Northumberland
 
Holy Island, Northumberland
Holy Island, Northumberland
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing