We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place to Stay”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We found the Manor House a very pleasant place to stay on Lindesfarne (Holy Island). The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, and the food was good. It's located next door to the ruins of the old priory, and is close to shops and other restaurants. The staff were very friendly, giving it almost the atmosphere of a bed and breakfast.
If you are going to Lindesfarne, I would highly recommend the Manor House!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RbrtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2007

I visited Lindisfarne in May 2007 with 3 friends. We booked 2 rooms at the Manor House. When we first arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who warmly welcomed us. The rooms were small by US standards but clean and comfortable. We had the D/B/B plan. Our dinners were delicious, served hot, and had ample portions. Breakfast the next morning was cooked to order and wonderful. The location is convenient for sightseeing. We particularly appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. I will be visiting Lindisfarne again and will certainly try to book accomodations at the Manor House.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RevDave18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

We first visited the Manor House Hotel four years ago and have been back at least once a year ever since. It's recently had a complete refurb and you can now expect the very best in luxury, which you wouldn't perhaps expect on a remote island. Our room boasted not only spectacular views of the harbour, castle and priory but a plasma screen TV!

Dining is intimate and service attentive with staff that take pride in their work and always have a smile and have time for you. We have dined at the very best restaurants in London and New York but nothing can beat the local produce served here. The lobster and crab are superb (you need to pre-order lobster) and for desert you can sample home made ice cream sourced from the diary up the road (not available in NY)!

The hotel has a relaxed friendly atmosphere - the rooms, quite possibly boast the best views on the island. However, I would say the island (and islanders) should be treated with the utmost respect.

To avoid disappointment we've booked our favourite room (well, I'm not going to tell you which one, you'd have to find that out for yourself) a year in advance - it's a bit like staying in a house, rather than a hotel, hence the name!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JulesandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2007

Although not actually staying at the Manor House I can recommend the hotel for good food and friendly staff, We have visited the island many times but self catered for the first time this April. The Manor House changed hands a couple of years ago and relatives had stayed there commenting on how the hotel had been updated and improved. It certainly had and we loved the extra space in the bar and the fantastic new toilets!(you had to have experienced the onld ones to really appreciate this.) So, just writing this review to comment that things have certainly changed since the last review on the site (2004). Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
NORTHUMBERLAND, ENGLAND
139
Reviewed 29 September 2004

A quiet relaxing two night break was what we hoped for on Holy Island. We viewed a number of options and settled for the Manor House Hotel. We Decided to treat ourselves and booked the poster bedroom with dinner and breakfast. At £140 for two per night our expectations were high.
We arrived and as soon as we stepped into the building it was obvious it desperately needed updating. The Gentlemen who met us had a stained grey tee shirt and the barman was finishing his pint! Great first impressions!! Our room which was apparently there best it did have a great view but the positives ended there. The bed was rather unstable and cheap the chair next to the dressing table was broken. The bathroom was not clean the shower did not work and it was very dated.
We carried on having a pleasant day on Holy Island, attempting to enjoy our two night break. Upon our return we had dinner we sat in the bar having our drink whilst others were being served around us we could see what was coming, others were already complaining amongst themselves. Dinner I can only describe as poor. I ordered gammon it came with chips and peas the only taste it had was the lard! My wife had lamb chops you would have thought they could have trimmed the fat off them, although that would have only revealed the substandard meat. Living in the countryside myself I know what a fresh tasting lamb chops taste off and it was the opposite of what was served. The vegetables were not fresh, overcooked and very pale. I am sure corn was yellow last time I had it. I would have been disappointed if I had paid £5.00 for both meals not what you expect in a hotel which charges £140 per night.
The following day after we complained we did get a reduced bill of £100 I am still wondering why I paid that.
We did not stop a further night, we moved across the road and booked into the CROWN AND ANCHOR and that thankfully was a very pleasant experience which I would recommend. Pleasant host and staff , great room, a fab meal and it was a little cheaper..

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que confirmen antes si el cuarto de baño está dentro de la habitación.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cristobal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer im 1. OG - die Aussicht ist zu allen Seiten toll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
13.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
12.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
4.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: TD15 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range: £42 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Manor House Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing