We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“February Weekend on Holy Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“February Weekend on Holy Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2016

We've just had a lovely weekend staying at the Manor House in the family room. The family room is on the top floor, very large with great views to the east and west. The staff were all exceptionally friendly during our stay. I would dfeinitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great views from the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    99
    44
    19
    10
See reviews for
55
198
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

We booked into the room (i forget the door number) with two windows. The room was on the top floor, spacious with a walk in cupboard for storage. There was a huge bathtub and shower and a large bed. one window looked out into the priory and the other was a dorma window with two seats and a table which looked out to the castle. it was beautiful

the breakfast and dining areas were beautiful and had obviously just been modernised and the staff were very helpful and friendly (especially the australian lady!)

everything on the island is central as its so small but the manor house was very central and i bet would be lovely in warmer weather as they have a lovely outdoor space

we ate on the evening and the inclusive breakfast and both were lovely and tasty. we especially liked that the bar area had a cosy corner with games such as connect 4 and monopoly

having past most other places on the island that offer accommodation i would struggle to imagine they have the views the front facing rooms here do

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank r00barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2016

2 nights stay en route from bucks to aberdeen. Easy to book with very helpful reception. Great welcome on arrival. Room facilities excellent. Lots to see and do with very good advice from staff. Had evening meal in hotel restaurant both days. Excellent food and service with great breakfast. More than enough choice and comfortable. Cannot praise enough. Even given chef's soup recipe to try at home.

Room Tip: Some rooms have restricted view but who cares when there is an island to explore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2016

My wife and I stayed with two friends for one night (New Years Eve 2015). We were welcomed at Reception by the smiling daughter of the owners. I am happy to say that this lovely welcome was typical of the way we were treated during our stay. The hotel was spotless, the food excellent and the customer service was exceptional. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we all agreed, we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking sea, island and Lindisfarne
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in late November which is very much the tail end of the holiday season on Holy Island. So, the island is fairly quiet at this time of year, especially at high tide when the tidal causeway crossing is closed (for travellers not familiar with Holy Island, it is critically important that you recognise that the island is only accessible when the tide is low enough. Tide tables and safe crossing window times are published on the internet so travellers can plan in advance).

The hotel is one of the larger hotels on the island and provides comfortable rooms: the larger rooms have king sized beds and some have 4 poster beds. The hotel has a good web site which allows you to browse the different rooms. We booked room 4 which is a nice room with a 4 poster bed. After the first night, the manager advised that since their best room (room 3) was available for the remainder of our stay, we were welcome to move to this room for no additional charge. We accepted this generous offer and were able to enjoy the extra space that room 3 offers coupled with the fabulous views from this room.

The hotel is located next to the impressive Abbey ruin which is well worth a visit. There is also a very welcoming local pub called the Crown & Anchor next to the hotel. The hotel has a small walled car park at the rear. Other worthwhile places to visit are the Castle and the Winery shop (close to the hotel). This shop sells a wide range of products from various meads through to delicious cakes. The cooking sauces, chutneys and marmalades are out of this world. They also stock a staggering range of malt whisky. I do not recall seeing such a fabulous selection of malt whisky outside of Scotland.

The hotel has a restaurant and bar area where food is served. The food is good with a decent, good value menu. Tea and coffee are served in the bar area which has comfortable seating and a roaring stove (lovely on a cold winter's evening). This is a very popular location for a relaxing refreshment and chat.

Overall we felt that this hotel was good value with good food and located in a prime location on this beautiful, peaceful island. The staff are friendly and helpful. We will stay there again in the future. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best room with more space and wonderful views to 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2015

My Husband I and booked a weekend at the Manor House Hotel for a, more than welcome, child free weekend. On arrival we were greeted by Catherine, the Manager. We were early but Catherine arranged for our room to be sorted immediately and 15 minutes later we were all checked in. We had the most fantastic weekend. All of the staff were lovely and friendly, we had dinner both nights in the hotel and The food was excellent. We were made to feel almost like personal friends during our stay and found the whole weekend to be very relaxing. We will definitely be returning in the near future. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying on Holy Island.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

We were a party of 9. We had 5 rooms all were very nice. Sea views worth paying more for. The staff were excellent and the food fantastic. Breakfasts superb.The island is worth a visit. Would recommend a stay here. We downloaded a treasure hunt it was a good laugh worth doing.

Stayed November 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
11.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
7.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Market Place, TD15 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Manor House Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing