We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We have been to Lindisfarne several times, but have always wanted to be there when the day trippers have gone and the tide is in. Well our trip in May ticked all those boxes! We stayed at The Manor House Hotel in one of the rooms with a sea view out of one window and The Priory out of the other - magical! It is a lovely, comfortable, very clean hotel and the staff couldn't be more helpful.

The experience of being on the island when all goes quiet and the day trippers go is something to be repeated next year, hopefully in the same hotel - even the same room.

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tomelchas03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    99
    44
    19
    10
See reviews for
55
198
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We have just come back from a wonderful annual visit to this special place.
I had kippers and poached eggs for breakfast both days they tasted amazing (full English or continental available)
Then after breakfast we had adventures all over the island, every hotel is handy for everything the island isn't that big, but this hotel is perfectly situated for everything and did I mention the best views because it has them.
Evening meals were lovely too, book for the best views. The menu has plenty of choice and they have seasonal daily specials.
Our room is the best with views of both the castle and abbey and a wonderfully comfortable bed

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alysia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016

Good value hotel but my companion spent a sleepless night in the noisiest room ever, due to the cooling system being beneath her room. Room 8, where I slept, overlooked staff accommodation with a glimpse of sea beyond. Otherwise the setting was perfect, right next to the priory. Food was disappointing; decor uninspiring, reception area minuscule. But the surroundings are marvellous and make up for nearly everything. Breakfast was good. Staff could have been more attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbarkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016

good views from our room of castle and priory room very spacious and spotless we stayed in room 3 staff brilliant we will definitely be back hotellovely beer garden looking onto castle and right next to priory

Room Tip: choose room 3 very quiet and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2016

This is the 4th time we have eaten out at the manor house hotel,again we were pleased with the value and the quality of the food and drink,the surroundings are nice and relaxing with views of the harbour ,castle and the church yard from the restaurant and bar ares

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016

Such a lovely cosy, friendly place. Great food and service both for breakfast and dinner. Very relaxed atmosphere though would have liked a slightly later checkout than 10am! You could not get a better position than here to explore the island and the views are spectacular. Will definitely be back and cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeymac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2016

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. It's practically on the beach and has amazing views of the castle and headland (it's worth upgrading your room to have this view if you can). The food in the restaurant was good including a number of vegetarian options. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
11.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
7.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Market Place, TD15 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Manor House Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing