We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oswald's”
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We tried the new bistro called Oswald's @ the Lindisfarne Hotel last Thursday. In lovely sunshine we sat on the terrace and perused the new menu. All the food is home made and absolutely delicious and worth waiting for. Top quality and beautifully presented. Well done to Karen And Joanne at Oswald's and to Sean and Jackie who own the premises.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

Two years ago my husband Gordon and I went to Lindisfarne for the day and liked it so much decided to stay over night. We were directed to Lindisfarne Hotel by a local barman, the best decision ever. As a result of the warm hospitality by Sean, Jackie and Jack, we have been back on several occasions since with our family and look forward to visiting again this year. Nothing is too much trouble for them.Our visits to Lindisfarne would not be the same without them.
Stewart Family,Lenzie

Room Tip: King size room and family room really comfortable. Really good comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

On hearing that Gordon and I had four bald tyres on the Audi and wanted to visit Holy Island after Xmas and New Year, Sean arranged to have a brand new IX 35 Hyundai 1.6 GDI delivered to our door to allow us to cross the causeway to visit again soon.

As usual, he warned us of the tide times, and as usual, we were late. The car is somewhere off the Northumberland coast- we will see you very soon, we hope. We are not strong swimmers.

We adore Holy Island and we love staying at The Lindesfarne Hotel. I want to bring the whole family next time.

What peace! Sean and family are absolute gems.

Happy New Year to you all, we miss you and see you soon. Get the rose wine and Boddingtons in.

Room Tip: overlooking the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordypordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

What a joy, when one of your favourite places is even better each time you go. There’s a special magic about Holy Island: the light; the constant variety of climate; the tranquillity; a place ‘Where prayer has been valid’. And there’s a special magic about the Lindisfarne Hotel too: the most welcoming accommodation; hugely more comfortable since Sean and Jackie became the proprietors (the beds provide a wonderful night’s sleep); they are always seeking to make an already winning formula even better.

There are already lots of appreciative comments on this site about Sean’s down-to-earth good humour. I love that too. But I also wish to pay tribute to his extraordinary sensitivity in reading the needs of his guests. We make an annual visit as a reading group and need lots of uninterrupted quiet: it’s exactly what we get. Jackie’s catering has always been great but there’s no standing still at the Lindisfarne Hotel: it was tweaked to be even more attuned to our particular group this year. In every respect, a perfect synergy. And if, during your visit to the island, there turns out to be a medical incident, there’s no-one I’d rather have alongside than Sean: calm, practical, earthed, indeed heroic.

The Lindisfarne Hotel is the best of places for the best of times.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bartimaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Well what a beautiful hotel in all regards. Wonderful location on this beautiful piece of England. Genial hosts, lovely rooms, fantastic breakfast to start the day. Couldn't ask for more.
Really enjoyed our stay at this special hotel.

Room Tip: Chat to the hotel Manager. He is really approachable and willing to help in any way to make your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polargirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Me and my husband enjoyed 2 nights at the Lindisfarne Hotel. Sean, the host, is very welcoming and accommodating and we would definitely stay here again. Our room was spacious and very clean with tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water and biscuits. The breakfast set us up nicely for the day with cereal, full cooked English breakfast and toast. Lunch was also very nice in the hotel cafe - a choice of sandwiches or stotties and freshly baked scones. The hotel's location is great as you can easily walk to Lindisfarne Castle, Priory, beaches etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Anyone who stays up past midnight to welcome a group of pilgrims gets an A+ in my book! Rooms were beautiful, breakfast was superb, lunch was great. Central location. Don't stay anyplace else in Lindisfarne!

Room Tip: First floor, room on the left, beautiful 4-poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pudelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
11.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
488 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
10.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lindisfarne Hotel On Holy Island Is Run As A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing