We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Lindisfarne Hotel is really a 'Bed and Breakfast Plus'. The welcome was warm and full of useful local information. The room was clean, comfortable and extremely quiet. Free Internet access was slow - but we were here for pleasure, not business. Breakfast was excellent. It passed my 'scrambled egg test' - which so often comes out as tofu in texture - but this was good. Breakfast was substantial enough for us not to need lunch!
Oswald's, which is an independently run bistro within the hotel, was very good too. There is fine food to be had and a small but well chosen wine list.
I would have no hesitation in booking in here again. We only stayed for one night - next time I'd make it two. Note to self: Bring sturdy waterproof footwear.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetRecorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
210
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lindisfarne is a beautiful, peaceful island and The Lindisfarne Hotel is, in my opinion, the best place to stay on the island and in an excellent location. The service is outstanding. Sean really does look after his guests - nothing is too much trouble! He goes out of his way to make sure his guests have the best experience possible and his banter and humour all add to the fantastic experience.
There is ample parking for guests. The room I stayed in was, comfortable, bright and colourful and overlooked the large garden. The en-suite had a shower, not a bath, and was 'cosy', but it was fine as small en-suites go - it was immaculately clean and had all the necessary accessories.
The food was delicious, both the huge breakfasts and the delightful dishes served in St Oswald's Bistro. I had a very memorable time there for my birthday and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank criatoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Recently opened as part of the Lindisfarne Hotel premises.Food is first-rate, made with fresh ingredients esp, local seafood. Go for the crab linguini or the seafood platter or the (enormous) main course portion of moules. Staff are young and keen and deserve to do well

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacArthur1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed a couple of days over the Jubillee Weekend and thoroughally enjoyed our stay. The hotel has ample parking and a nice garden. My parents had the large downstairs room (it has full disbaled access & a sit in shower), as we booked fairly late we had the smallest room on the 1st floor. Both rooms were clean and well decorated and both had easy chairs, so even the smallest room was big enough as there was still room for an ample sized bath.
Breakfasts were excellent and kept you going until the evening meal. Once breakfast is served the kitchen becomes an independant bistro serving teas & meals until the evening in the restaurant or in the garden if nice. We shared the ploughman's & it was sumptious with top quality fresh produce.
Sean the owner (with his wife Jackie) is only to pleased to help & can provide you with an entertaining service. We will definately be looking to make a return trip.

Room Tip: The island is nice and quiet with very limited traffic noise. The best rooms are facing the front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordiedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We sampled this hotel restaurant on one of our regular visits to Holy Island and went back to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
The smoked haddock fishcake starter is delicious and all I needed for my meal. My daughter and husband shared the seafood platter which is more than enough for two but we have also tried the crab sandwiches and beefburger on another occasion.For dessert we recommend the shortbread and the meringues.
We took tea and dessert in the pleasant garden in the sunshine where our waiter Jake took our photograph for us. We recommend Jake for his banter, his smile and his impeccable service..
We will be back to sample the rest of the fantastic menu soon.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel but intend to at a later date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

excellent family friendly hotel. lovely comfortable room, spacious and clean. breakfast very nice. will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscany72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Had our wedding on the island many moons ago and the Lindisfarne is dear to us as this is where we had the reception. Have not visited in recent years, as always take the dogs now and self cater. However, popped in to try out Oswalds for lunch the other day as the menu looked good. Greeted by the proprietor (Sean?) and went through to the bistro. The young gentleman who was serving was excellent, couldn't do enought for us, even enquiring as to evening availabilty and whether they could get us lobster at short notice. The food (oswalds burger) was stunning, beautifully presented and freshly prepared...not normally a burger lover but this must have been made with freshly minced steak!! Cakes also to die for...We unfortunately couldn't return for the evening meal but will definitely call in next time we are on the island. Hope you have a good season!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALCE1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
7.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
371 reviews
11.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
10.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
404 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Property: Lindisfarne Hotel
Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LINDISFARNE HOTEL ON HOLY ISLAND IS RUN AS A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing