We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Lindisfarne”
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North east
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Lindisfarne”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We decided to visit Holy Island for a few hours on friday 20th of July. The weather was good and it seemed a shame to go home so we asked in the Lindisfarne Hotel if we could have a room, we were lucky and not disappointed. The room was spotless and very comfortable, we were made very welcome and had one of the best nights sleep in a b & b. The breakfast was fine, good service and lots of choice. We will definatley return and would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NortheastMrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
213
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Hotel is very nice and the staff very helpful. Oswald's cafe does superb food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonehaven_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome at the end of a long coast to coast walk. Sean is well used to wet walkers and dried out all our gear. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Excellent breakfast and the food at Oswald's was also good. Lots of helpful information about making the most of an island visit.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trekbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Lindisfarne Hotel is really a 'Bed and Breakfast Plus'. The welcome was warm and full of useful local information. The room was clean, comfortable and extremely quiet. Free Internet access was slow - but we were here for pleasure, not business. Breakfast was excellent. It passed my 'scrambled egg test' - which so often comes out as tofu in texture - but this was good. Breakfast was substantial enough for us not to need lunch!
Oswald's, which is an independently run bistro within the hotel, was very good too. There is fine food to be had and a small but well chosen wine list.
I would have no hesitation in booking in here again. We only stayed for one night - next time I'd make it two. Note to self: Bring sturdy waterproof footwear.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetRecorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lindisfarne is a beautiful, peaceful island and The Lindisfarne Hotel is, in my opinion, the best place to stay on the island and in an excellent location. The service is outstanding. Sean really does look after his guests - nothing is too much trouble! He goes out of his way to make sure his guests have the best experience possible and his banter and humour all add to the fantastic experience.
There is ample parking for guests. The room I stayed in was, comfortable, bright and colourful and overlooked the large garden. The en-suite had a shower, not a bath, and was 'cosy', but it was fine as small en-suites go - it was immaculately clean and had all the necessary accessories.
The food was delicious, both the huge breakfasts and the delightful dishes served in St Oswald's Bistro. I had a very memorable time there for my birthday and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank criatoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Recently opened as part of the Lindisfarne Hotel premises.Food is first-rate, made with fresh ingredients esp, local seafood. Go for the crab linguini or the seafood platter or the (enormous) main course portion of moules. Staff are young and keen and deserve to do well

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacArthur1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed a couple of days over the Jubillee Weekend and thoroughally enjoyed our stay. The hotel has ample parking and a nice garden. My parents had the large downstairs room (it has full disbaled access & a sit in shower), as we booked fairly late we had the smallest room on the 1st floor. Both rooms were clean and well decorated and both had easy chairs, so even the smallest room was big enough as there was still room for an ample sized bath.
Breakfasts were excellent and kept you going until the evening meal. Once breakfast is served the kitchen becomes an independant bistro serving teas & meals until the evening in the restaurant or in the garden if nice. We shared the ploughman's & it was sumptious with top quality fresh produce.
Sean the owner (with his wife Jackie) is only to pleased to help & can provide you with an entertaining service. We will definately be looking to make a return trip.

Room Tip: The island is nice and quiet with very limited traffic noise. The best rooms are facing the front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordiedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
11.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
205 reviews
11.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Property: Lindisfarne Hotel
Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lindisfarne Hotel On Holy Island Is Run As A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing