We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - this is the perfect place to stay on the lsland”
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Look no further - this is the perfect place to stay on the lsland”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed on 28th March for a one night stay - wish it had been longer. But we plan to return.

On arrival you receive a warm hospitable welcome from Sean and Jackie. Whilst he explains all about the hotel and island you can relax with a cuppa.

Our room was double with en suite facilities. The whole place is smart, warm and comfortable.

We had the best nights sleep in the most comfortable beds ever.

The island is stunning no matter what the weather and although we were on a short stay we felt recharged and relaxed in no time.

The breakfasts are superb with a varied choice made with good quality produce.

Check out time is a comfortable
11 am.

After a long walk we returned back to the hotel for a delicious snack in the cafe before leaving.

Honestly look no further for a relaxing place to stay on Lindisfarne.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeNDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
59
215
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here and had 2 amazing nights - arrived early and was given a warm welcome, coffee and a chat about the Island from Sean and Jackie, we were really impressed with the room which was spotlessly clean and spacious, breakfast was lovely everything was cooked fresh toast, cereal, and full english!! Would certainly recommend this hotel nothing was too much trouble for Sean and Jackie. We will definately be returning here again and have recommended it to all our friends. A truly relaxing weekend on this lovely Island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve and debs r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England, UK
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our second stay at this little gem, so I won't repeat what I've already written in my previous review.

Often when one stumbles across a gem of a place, one wonders if it was just a 'one off' but no - it was every much as enjoyable as the first time.

Sean is such an amenable chap, and his lovely wife jackie is amazing. The poor thing was suffering with very sore feet and she was clearly in agony yet still found the time to come and say hello.

Our breakfast was as good as I remembered - but this time I orderd poached eggs - I always have a degree of trepidation when I order poached eggs as no one ever seems to get them just right. And believe me I've tied the best - from the world famous Raffles hotel to Gleneagles to many other so called world class establishments - the eggs jackie cooked for me were truly perfection - and I say without a single doubt - better than ANY I've had cooked anywhere in the world - including Michelin starred establishments - hats off to you Jackie!

Don't even hesitate if you're looking for a place to stay on Lindesfarne; you won't find a cleaner ( How they keep the place SO spotlessly clean - everywhere was gleaming, and I mean everywhere), friendlier or more comfortable place to stay. Nothing but nothing is a problem for these welcoming hosts who embrace you as though you were a family friend.


In short - we VERY highly recommend this hotel and we really cannot wait to return!

Thank you So much Sean and Jackie!

Room Tip: They're all good - phone Sean and tll him what you want and he will tell you which room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberland-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I have just Spent a winter break at the Linisfarne Hotel, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A great base to explore the borders from with a warm reception when you arrive back from exploring. I would wholely recommend this hotel as a base for all.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel, in a perfect location. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and we were given the benefit of his knowledge of the island when he suggested a walk off the beaten tourist track to the North of the island. The room was clean, bright and had everything you would want and expect. Breakfast was cooked to order and of a high standard. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiRidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a night over valentines weekend.
We arrived before check in but Sean still made us feel very welcome and made us both tea and coffee and gave us a map of the island.
After touring the island we returned back to the hotel to check in, and our room that we were given was amazing with a 4 poster bed, spotlessly clean, really modern with free Wi-Fi, flat screen tv. Nothing was no trouble to Sean out we asked to have some food cooked which was then delivered straight to our room accompanied by drinks too.
For customer service nowhere I've been to before can compare to here, would return at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emwahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We visited Lindisfarne in September 2013.
We did not stay at this hotel BUT!
We had a major problem with our hire car & were faced with being stranded by the tide if we could not get it mobile.
Sean went to a lot of trouble to get us help.
After the problem had been solved we had tea & scones which were the best we have tasted.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
11.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
10.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
210 reviews
7.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
383 reviews
11.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Property: Lindisfarne Hotel
Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lindisfarne Hotel On Holy Island Is Run As A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing