We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely coming back”
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a superior room number 3 and loved it. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed. Sean never stops talking. He is so happy and jovial, always cracking jokes and nothing is too much trouble. Complimentary tea delivered on a tray to our room on arrival. Breakfast was great. Got its own car park which is good as Holy Island gets very busy. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Superior Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the moment we booked to stay here we knew it would be special. Sean has such a sense of humor he had me in stitches over the phone. When we arrived on Monday evening (27th May) straight away we were given a nice hot pot of tea which went down a treat after a long journey.
He had remembered that we had just got married and his wife Jackie and himself both congratulated us.
Always trying to suggest nice places to visit and the local Pub Crawl, he was so helpful. He and his wife Jackie work tirelessly and he's always asking if you need anything just shout.
Breakfast time in the morning is something else with his cheery banter with the guests, "Would you like something hot, apart from me that is" lol. We had cereal and full English which was perfect to set us up for the day.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, and it's such great little hotel on a lovely island and one day we hope we will be able to visit again.

Room Tip: Our room was no 12 and had a four poster bed which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We were made very welcome by Sean when we arrived. He is certainly a character who will keep you entertained but behind the joker facade is someone who will go out of his way to make your stay comfortable. We were impressed that gluten free bread and soya milk were available to guests who had not pre-ordered and also other guests who were arriving too late for an evening meal elsewhere were provided for with hot sandwiches when they arrived. Our room was immaculate and comfortable . Breakfast was the traditional hearty English - cereal, cooked breakfast with lots of choices, toast etc. Perhaps some lighter options for breakfast would be welcome- fruit, yoghurt , croissants etc. I can hear Sean laughing at this as I write it!
Nice gardens and good parking also. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great hotel, great location. Lovely room, very clean. Great host. Sean was very helpful and very friendly, prob one of the best hosts we have had in a long time, and we visit a lot of places countrywide. If you come to Lindisfarne, stay here. Ps Ask Sean about Imitation bacon and the mince and tattys he had as a kid hehe

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaronIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lindisfarne is a totally magical place that can't really be described. Staying over on the Island when the tide came in gave us a totally different view of the Island. The island is like two different places - parts of it were very busy during the day but in the evening it was very different.

Lindisfarne hotel is a great place to stay to get the most out a trip to holy island. Sean was so helpful in giving us advice of the places to go, and so welcoming.

Sean and Jackie's hotel is lovely. Really clean, well decorated and warm and friendly. The bed was so comfy.

The breakfast was also really good. I have Coeliac disease and so need to keep to a strict gluten free diet. They were so helpful and provided gluten free bread and sausages. A rare treat!

We had an amazing time and will definitely be back. Thanks so much to you both!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleKilmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Never visited before, but what a wonderful warm welcome, our daughter was treated like a VIP, our room was wonderful, massive bed, room was big enough for the 3, of us, lovely en-suite, great hospitality, and breakfast was excellent, price good, would recommend it to everyone

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night at this hotel at the end of walking St. Cuthbert's Way (organized fabulously by Macs Adventures). We were welcomed cheerfully by Sean who not only made us feel very welcome but also served us hot tea and immediately oriented us to to the island. The latter was particularly appreciated as we were weary, wouldn't be staying on the island for more than 24 hours, and really wanted to maximize our time there. It's a lovely old building right in the heart of things. We found everything we needed in the room, and breakfast was delicious, plentiful and well organized. Sean is a very funny man---he kept us in stitches! Jacqueline, who we met at breakfast, was also delightful. Wonderful stay and a lovely end to a wonderful walking vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
5 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
5.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
1,022 reviews
11.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
23.5 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
359 reviews
11.4 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lindisfarne Hotel On Holy Island Is Run As A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing