We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, friendly, helpful hosts, but rather over priced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location, friendly, helpful hosts, but rather over priced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Holy Island is a magical location and we had a fabulous stay there. The hosts where very helpful and welcoming and advised us on two fantastic walks.
The place was clean and functional, but I have to say you did feel you were paying for the location!
The beds were exceptionally soft to the extent you could easily fally out...and although we had been promised the two singles would be zipped together to make a king they were not. Having tried to zip them together our selves, we ended up with one of us in the crack in the middle and the other falling out the other side!
The food was average, but edible, although they did have a rather good wine list!
I had a fantastic night there, but would say this was more to do with the magic of Holy island, than the Ship Inn itself.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmwachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    73
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
29
168
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife and I decided to have a couple of nights away in December for our first wedding anniversary, and decided on a quiet relaxing break on Holy Island. And what a treat. Hats off to Andrew & Janice, their hospitality is second to none. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and real ales, and having stopped in room one (the more traditional room upstairs) we found it to be quaint, cosy, and clean (contrary to one of the previous reviews).
We were the only people staying mid-December but the warmth of the welcome and the genuine desire of the owners to ensure our stay was as memorable as we had hoped means we will be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one, the four poster room. It's the more traditional of the rooms, but suited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Extremely friendly service. The owners were more than hospitable, food was home cooked and fantastic. The open fire in the bar was atmospheric and relaxing, a wonderful way to spend a weekend. We were very impressed with the Ship Inn and would highly recommend a visit to this wonderful part of the North East.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our experience of this place could not have been further from most other reviewers opinions.
When you arrive the hall way is dark and dismal and very small, up the narrow stairs to the rooms. We were in the 4 poster bedroom, what a disappointment!!! Upon entering the room smelt musty and on closer inspection it was apparent the room was in need of a thorough clean. The tops of the brass balls on the bed were covered in fluff, the pelmet across the top of the curtains had cobwebs stretched all across them, when I looked under the bed, the carpet was a different colour than the rest of the dated patterned carpet, this was due to the amount of dust and hairs that was littered on it, this was a theme that carried on throughout the room, ie, underneath the chest of drawers, bedside cabinets, and for a 2 inch wide strip around the outside of the room, Im not trying to say I moved the furniture to see this layer of dust, it was clearly visible beneath the furniture, which was all on legs. It was obvious that who ever hoovered the rooms daily, had no idea what a hoover nozzle was for. There was a wall hung LCD tv near the bathroom door, I cant tell you how thick the dust was behind this!!! The doors were panelled and these were all layered in thick dust and fluff, In my honest opinion if I had had my way I would have turned around and walked out immediately, but the friends we were visiting with seemed more than happy with the accommodation, its amazing how peoples standards vary. My Hubby was just as disappointed as me, but we chose to say nothing so as not to upset our friends, who had gone to great lengths to arrange the visit. Needles to say, we did not enjoy our stay in this dirty room and couldn’t wait to leave, I can honestly say it is the dirtiest place I have ever stayed!!!
The public areas are not much better, the toilets in the pub were awful, you could literally see the dirt and grime on all the skirting boards and dado rails, as these are supposed to be painted brown, but were actually layered in dust!!!
To be fair the host and hostess were the friendliest people you could ever meet, its just a shame their hosting skills don’t include the capabilities of keeping their Inn clean!!
When paying in excess of £100 a night, you should at least expect cleanliness.
I could go on and on about how terrible the room was, but I don’t want to make it seem like I am one of these trip advisors that nit picks about every little thing, I am not nit picking I am trying to stop some poor unsuspecting person from booking this place before being armed with a truthful review.
If all you want is a comfy bed after a long days sightseeing and walking, and your not too fussy, then this place is adequate.
If like me, you expect certain standards of cleanliness to be met, avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bootilicious34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolyIslandAndrew, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Firstly, for someone who was obviously 'very upset' about her stay with us you kept very quiet for 4 months, unless of course you read a certain other review and decided to 'join in'. We find it hard to believe you can stay overnight with friends and not mention your huge disappointment (treble exclamination marks noted in your review) and dismay in the accommodation in which they have arranged for you. Most people would be knocking on their door and discussing this straight away, however, we accept you may 'be different'. Please take our advise if you should ever have a similar experience in the future, tell someone at the time and not four months later.

The Ship is an 18th century Inn and we admit the entrance to the accommodation is via a small lobby but this is well lit and the high quality wilton wool carpets and decor are in keeping with the character. There are 4 letting rooms above the Inn which are also 18th century and furniture and decor are again in keeping with the character. The rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard and are definitely not layered thick in dust and fluff. This is totally untrue and certainly not a true reflection of the accommodation we offer. We disagree with your comment about nit picking and think this is definitely what you did, in fact, we would say your comments are very harsh and hope anyone reading them will 'read between the lines'. I doubt very much we would still be running a successful business if your review was to be even half true.

We run a clean and comfortable establishment and offer good home cooked food as all of our genuine customers will agree, we recognise there are some people who will never be happy with anything they do in life, although this does not give a reason to write untruths on review sites.

We look forward to welcoming genuine people with a genuine reason to visit our beautiful island and not because 'our friends arranged it for us'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

A last minute decision to spend New Year on this beautiful island which we have visited many times before. Andrew gave a very good sales pitch when we rang to book our evening meal, we were impressed with the sound of the menu and assumed given the price of the meal that we were in for a real treat. The reality was that the food was of poor quality with no flavour. Would not recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

• Room shabby and very small – carpet in particular throughout the upstairs gives a very poor impression (fake flowers also need removing)
• Shower weak in pressure and very strong smell of bleach in the whole room
• No information provided in the room about services available to guests/heating in room/internet connection/ breakfast/facilities/island experience and history
• Evening meal selection very poor and food less than brilliant for the price -no specials available
• No atmosphere in lounge bar and closed at 8pm! Hardly the warm, historic pub experience advertised on website (interestingly the other pub on the island and hotel bar we walked to were both very busy ).


By far the worst element of our stay at the ship was the fact that throughout the night our sleep was disturbed by the loudest snoring I have ever heard coming from the private accommodation of the owners. This was audible both during the afternoon whilst the pub was closed and throughout the whole night. We both had a dreadful night’s sleep and really felt weary leaving the pub feeling like going straight back to (a quiet) bed.

The price of £110 always seemed high to me for pub accommodation but we were prepared to pay it as the experience marketed on line seemed idyllic. The reality was far from this and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolyIslandAndrew, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
It should be pointed out that this reviewer contacted us direct a number of weeks before posting their review on Trip Advisor and in their correspondence stated that they would much rather deal direct with the owners and not enter into correspondence through a review site such as Trip Advisor. Their main adverse comment which was highlighted by being typed in very large font was the snoring of a room guest heard from a nearby room. As the owners of the business we take any comments made very seriously and gave a sincere reply. We also pointed out in an apologetic manner that although we can greatly sympathise with their sleep pattern being disturbed we have no control over individuals sleep habits. Responding to their other comments we give our responses as follows:

When the room booking was made we clearly pointed out that this room is the smaller of the four rooms in our establishment. The carpets are all good quality supplied from a high grade range of carpets. The room is in very good order as depicted on our web page. The flowers are a “glass sculpture” purchased from a reputable arts and craft supplier.

The showers in our establishment are all electric; this particular model was fitted when the room was completed and is rated at 10Kw; we inspect the shower heads regularly and the flow rate in our opinion is not an issue.

No information provided! We are not sure where this reviewer looked while staying with us as we supply a very comprehensive room information pack which is in a very prominent positon in the room. We detail meal times, the history of the island, post office, general store, churches etc. With regard to internet information we always offer our room guests our wi-fi code. In fact for this particular guest we assisted the room guest with the details for the wi-fi set up to which they gave us a very reassuring response that all was fine.

We admit that at certain times in the winter period we offer a simplistic, but quality menu. This particular couple were asked if everything was fine with their meal selection during and after completing their meal. There response was that they enjoyed their choices.
On the night in question this couple left the establishment around 8.00pm, the bar was not closed at this point as we had two other room residents who were drinking in the bar until just before 10 pm. With regard to the other establishments on the island, as a “close knit” community we all get on well and have never been in the habit of scoring points of one another. It is fair to say (as pointed out to this reviewer) that throughout the main season we are always very busy, however in the quieter winter months we can have a quiet day followed by a busy day. Our colleagues in the other establishments experience “feast and famine” also. It is also prudent to point out that visitors come to the island to experience peace and tranquillity.

We offer substantial discounts during the quieter winter months, however this booking was made for a one night stay during the Christmas period to which we were fully booked and room rates are at a premium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We first visited the island in late October when we stumbled across The Ship and received a warm and friendly greeting, we enjoyed all of it so much we planned to return and stay overnight. We went up on a beautiful December day and explored the island and returned to have lovely food and a blissful time sitting in the bar with the fire and good company of Andrew and Janice. After all that fresh air, food and drink we had a restful night in our room which was nice and the bed extremely comfortable, the biggest problem we had was struggling to get up for breakfast! pleased we did as it was very tasty! Enjoyed our overnight stay at the Ship and plan to return in the spring. Mary and Kev

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
7.3 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.1 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
4.6 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#13 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Brock Mill Farmhouse
11.2 mi away
The Island View Inn
The Island View Inn
#22 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Marygate, TD15 2SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Holy Island
The Ship Inn Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing