We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pleasant Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Friendly & welcoming inn in the centre of the village. The food was good, especially the fish and chips and the scampi. Our room was comfortable and well equipped with plenty of storage space. Overall it was a pleasant stay and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badelynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    73
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
29
168
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Food in restaurant disappointing. Payed £9.95 for bangers & mash. Bangers had one side uncuttable & unchewable. Disgusting texture of mash proved to be dried potato. Would not dream of eating there again. Hight ratings for this restaurant not deserved. Mens toilet facilities disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Can't compare our stay here with previous comments on trip advisor, the staff couldn't have been more helpful if they had cut up our food for us. It is a typical small island pub with rooms accommodation, not a city centre boutique hotel. The staff did explain what time the lunch and dinner times were and whilst there were a bit prescriptive for us townies, "that's when we eat on the island". food menu was small but hot and plentiful We loved the quaint customs and mixing with the locals who were very accommodating. Our bedroom was again a typical pub bedroom, not corporate just homely BUT the bed was fabulous like sleeping on a giant marshmallow, toilet was a little noisy but did not distract from sleeping with curtains open to see more stars than I have seen in a life time. Happy to return anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was really surprised and shocked to read a review posted on September 1st as it couldn’t be further from the truth!

I have visited and stayed in the Ship Inn on numerous occasions and sampled the genuine fantastic hospitality offered by the owners and staff.

All the rooms are exceptionally clean and welcoming offering high quality beds, linen, comfy pillows and lovely big soft white towels. There is a complimentary tray containing a selection of teas, coffees, milk and biscuits and the bathrooms are always well stocked with toiletries.

The food is cooked beautifully and of a high quality and standard served in a cosy restaurant adjacent to the bar, which offers a wide selection of beers wines, and spirits and is reasonably priced. What more could you ask for?!
Coincidentally my most recent visit was on Sunday September 1st for a one night stay – the day the negative review was posted.

We were welcomed on arrival and asked if we needed any help getting our bags out of the car. Our room was delightful (Room 1) clean, cosy and inviting and as usual with everything we needed.

We booked in for dinner in the evening, were personally greeted, showed to our table and looked after throughout the meal, which by the way was outstanding. I tucked into the large portion of haddock and chips but couldn’t resist a taste of the mouth watering lamb shank.

After a couple of drinks ,some good company and a deep restful sleep the following morning a first class chef cooked a plentiful delicious full breakfast to order served with hot toast, lashings of tea and plenty of TLC.
The whole experience was wonderful and just what we needed to recharge our batteries.

As always, I delayed leaving, as departing this unique island is difficult but I have already planned my next visit and will head straight back to the Ship Inn.

Don't let's ask for the moon. We have the stars – all FIVE of them!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are lovely but I like the four poster in Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine7556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed overnight in room 3 (apparently their best) the Bathroom was in need of a good clean,dust,spider webs and stained walls, plenty of towels all different shades of white, the towel rail was not cleaned, lamps out in mirror,
Nice chaise Longue in Bedroom but it was stained and feature lamp above it was out. Mattress very hard.
Full English Breakfast was over greasy and the poached egg was sloppy.
I have stayed in much better accommodation for a lot less money.
I would rate the Bedroom as 2 star 3 at best and a fair price would be £90/night not £130.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just spent the most wonderful three days on Holy Island, priviledged to have shared the island with the locals when the causeway closed. The luxury we enjoyed at the Ship Inn was only matched by the hospitality and warmth shown to us by every member of staff during our stay.
I have to thank our waiter for enduring our giggles at a malapropism on ordering from the dessert menu.
We can't wait to return to experience more.

Room Tip: The island is the only fitness centre you need and there is no charge, and the swimming pool is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at this lovely hotel. A gorgeous old building with all the quirkyness of old buildings. A small glitch with wi-fi was very quickly sorted for us when we spoke to one of the staff.
Bath sheets rather than skimpy bath towels so that you could have a shower and dry yourself easily.
A very warm welcome from Andrew and his staff. We had been in the hotel previously but only for drinks and meals, we have always had the same warm welcome.
Given that there was an even on the island over the weekend, he and his staff coped extremely well with the large influx of folks.
Nice comfy be, a couple of real ales on tap each day. We will certainly be back, and thank you for everything

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
7.3 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.1 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
4.6 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#13 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Brock Mill Farmhouse
11.2 mi away
The Island View Inn
The Island View Inn
#22 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Marygate, TD15 2SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Holy Island
The Ship Inn Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing