We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick-upon-Tweed)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
142
81
24
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
81
24
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubreal alejacket potatofish and chipssteak and ale pieevening meallocal seafoodbeautiful islandgood sizecrabowners and staffhome cookedperfect staystayed for nightslasagnalog firewarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Ship is a quaint traditional pub on the magnificent Holy Island. Rooms are a decent size and well furnished. The food in the restaurant is good and the staff and owner are very friendly.

The rooms are situated away from the bar area so there is no noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Sat, on an amazing place - Holy Island, The Ship Inn seems to be a a bit past it's use by date?! The staff were very welcoming and friendly, but to be told that certain items from either the bar or the menus because the owners had not bought them in as it was end of season is not so friendly! We paid top dollar for this and left disappointed!

Our room, No 3, was nice enough but a big spider in the bedroom, a larger moth in the bathroom and a fly that would not leave added to an air of being faded and grubby! The bed and bending was fine but trying to get a decent nights sleep with the constant hum of, what I assume was a fridge, beneath the bed meant a decent nights sleep was not provided.

To return to the menu which was very dated, in fact almost out of a time warp with tinned peas, frozen chips and two poor veggie options including the ubiquitous veggie lasagne! That said my partners fish was 'good' apparently! Deserts, despite the unavailability of a cheese board (end of season) were tasty and hot. Breakfast the next day was fine and reasonably substantial though the scrambled eggs lacked taste!

This was not an unpleasant stay but without a clean up, a make up and a better menu I would not choose to return in a hurry which is a pity because I suspect The Ship Inn could be so much more!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiddsy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had a great week on Holy Island / Lindisafrne staying in the Ship Inn. Very friendly, good food - large meals. Comfy beds. TV and internet in bedrooms.
It is very strange to sit and watch the tide come in over the main road. Fabulous wildlife on the island and more seals than I have every seen before.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanRPortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Another excellent 4 night stay. I have looked at some very negative comments about The Ship Inn and cannot believe people were staying in the same place as us.
Room 3 is a lovely room- many hotels would be proud to have such a room- and it was spotlessly clean!!!
The food was excellent at breakfast and dinner. Bacon cooked as it should be and perfect poached eggs- great breakfast to start the day . Plenty of choice at dinner- we loved all our meals .
Then there is the staff- all amazing. The Steve's( or Stephen), Andrews , other staff and Janice all so welcoming, friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Everything great - we will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suejohn4944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Friendly & welcoming inn in the centre of the village. The food was good, especially the fish and chips and the scampi. Our room was comfortable and well equipped with plenty of storage space. Overall it was a pleasant stay and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badelynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews