We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and unremarkable”
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive and unremarkable”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had lunch at the Ship last week and I must say we weren't very impressed. Lots of things had sold out (but were still listed on the specials board) and the staff weren't very helpful in explaining this or offering alternatives - they just told us how many lunches they'd served the previous day, as if that were our problem! The children in our party didn't want chicken nuggets and the staff wouldn't do a small cheese sandwich for them - and the adult one at almost £6 seemed pretty steep (and was very ordinary). Overall it was a pretty expensive lunch, which would have been fine if it had been lovely, but it wasn't. OK at best, and poor service. The picnic we had when we returned to Holy Island a few days later was ten times better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed, however it appears that you do not understand island life.

In particular the island's unique magnetic appeal to the general public attracts nearly 700,000 visitors in a relatively short season. With this in mind, all the businesses draw upon good reliable local wholesale traders. We therefore try very hard to predict what is needed against tides, weather and the volume of visitors; although the latter is an "unproven science" and sometimes we get it wrong!

As to the honesty of staff telling you "things have sold out", we believe is credit worthy. Hiding behind oneself and not being open at the time is not a "plus point". Regarding your children's choice, sandwiches start just above £4, plus there are many other items on our menu at the time suitable for children; but as you say, maybe for your next visit bring a picnic, which will hopefully alleviate the personal pressure experienced during your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    73
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
29
173
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great place to stay, food plentiful, staff friendly and helpful. A very relaxing and peaceful island with the Ship Inn within about a mile of the castle. The regular bus to the castle was a great help if you don't fancy the mile walk.

Room Tip: Room we had overlooked the high street but this is not a problem as until the tide goes out the isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_english
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments to which our staff have been informed and greatly appreciate in that they have given good service during your stay. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a meal in the restaurant on Thursday evening, we had been advised to book in advance as we were staying on the island overnight and as March is considered out of season not all establishments remain open.

We were greeted by a very friendly lady who had just started working in the establishment she was extremely polite and efficient.

We had drinks and both enjoyed the fish and chips from the varied menu.

Although out of season the bar and restaurant were busy and the atmosphere was cosy and welcoming. The owner of the establishment also came and asked if everyone was happy.

If on holy island Id recommend The Ship In for lunch or evening meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeNDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was my 1st visit to the Holy Island and the Ship inn, and it was fantastic. we were met by friendly staff..the room was a little on the small size for the price, but it was expected. the breakfast was lovely with good quality food.the staff are exceptionally helpful. island community are lovely and make you feel very welcome. i cant wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

What a superb experience, staying on Holy Island when the causway is closed down and all the tourists have gone back onto the mainland. This experience was enhanced by the owners and staff of the Ship Inn who made us feel part of the local community. They were friendly and informative about the Island without being over attentive. The room was spacious with a comfortable king sized bed and all trappings one would expect from a 4 star double room. The food was well presented and tasty and the Inn had a well stocked bar and was kept clean and tidy. All in all a memorable short break and well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousemanWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

ive read some negative reviews about this place,,we stayed in room 3 on sat 18th jan 2014, we found our room cozy quiet warm , comfortable bed , tv ,fantastic bathroom, bathrobes and plenty of clean towels on heated radiator..tea and coffee and bisciuts..
our hosts andy and janice could not have been anymore helpful or welcoming ..
our evening meal was beautiful, reviews say its expensive,,we both had starter main and a sweet each..with 2 pints of beer and large whie wine..£63...i dont call that expensive good portions too..
as for breakfast i found no fault with that either, if your coffee pot was empty our hosts only too glad to fill it up..we were both very happy it was a relaxing break and we will be returning to the ship in the summer for a long weekend...

Room Tip: room 3 very nice cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daz167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a lovely but rather wet weekend on Holy Island, we ate on Saturday evening at the ship inn. We were made to feel at home and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Can recommend the steak and ale pie and the lamb shank, delicious food.
Look forward to visiting on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozzii40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
10.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
404 reviews
7.3 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
4.1 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#14 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
605 reviews
4.3 mi away
Brock Mill Farmhouse
6.2 mi away
Broomhouse Farmhouse
Broomhouse Farmhouse
#1 of 2 in Cheswick
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Marygate, TD15 2SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Holy Island
The Ship Inn Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing