We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, characterful and comfortable house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Links View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room / kitchen Dining table (seating 8)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Dining room / kitchen
Dining table (seating 8)
Tiles with details of St Cuthbert's story
Living room
Toyboxes
Hallway and stairs to first floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Family bathroom
Library
Stairs to second floor
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Patio garden
The Castle
Sandham Bay
Across the sandflats to mainland, view of Cheviot and Hedgehope
View to the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle from the Heugh
St Cuthbert's Island with mainland beyond
Phil the grey seal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holy Island, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ShirleyGo...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, characterful and comfortable house”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Links View is a delightful, comfortable house full of charm and character. It has everything needed for an enjoyable stay.

We had visited Lindisfarne many times over the last 40 years but had never stayed on the island overnight until we discovered this lovely accommodation for hire. The island takes on a particularly magical quality once all the day visitors have left; try staying here if you want a truly peaceful and relaxing experience.

We particularly appreciated being able to take our dog who also thoroughly enjoyed his holiday!

We will be back!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lovely kitchen/dining space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thankyou - we are delighted that you (and the dog) had such a good experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelphineJ...
Peak District, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like our second home!”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in Links View 8 times now, that must be a good guide as to how much we like it. A beautiful, characterful but homely house which is plenty big enough for 8 people staying. If you are a William Morris fan (as I am) you will love it. The great big kitchen/dining room is perfect for the family and for entertaining if you have other friends staying on the Island as we do. The kitchen has everything that you need for family cooking.

A cosy living room with a great selection of dvds and games for the dark evenings.

A beautiful winding staircase. A perfect house for hide and seek with the kids.

The house is nice and secluded, hidden away from the tourists, but is still right in the 'thick of things!' 1 minute from the Ship Inn, Pilgrims Coffee House and the village shops. 2 minutes in the opposite direction for the beach, harbour and stunning view of the Castle, which is only a 10 minute walk away.

A fabulous place to stay on a magical little Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property has everything that you need.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
We're especially happy to welcome our repeat visitors back again - thankyou, and glad you had a good holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev S
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a lovely house on Holy Island”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Links view is the ideal property for any large family or friends wanting to stay on the island. There was 11 of us, including 4 children under 6, amd we were easily all accommodated in this 3 storey house.
What was a nice touch was the fact there was toys, DVDs, books and games there, plenty to keep the children and adults occupied if it rained!
We found the property had plenty of room for us all, was really well equipped, and once outside the property you were literally 2 minutes to the beach and 5 minutes to the castle!
Booking it was made easy by Rachel, who answered any queries I had about the property and making payment.
Thanks again for a wonderful weekend!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the castle from the road outside the property, and.privacy of patio areas
Liked least: Having to leave the island!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
So glad that you all enjoyed your stay. We love staying there ourselves with 3 generations of our family together, so good to hear that Links View works for your family too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friederik...
2 reviews
“We will come again...”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed another visit to Links View. We have been coming to Links View for nearly ten years. We love the house- it's a home from home. The kitchen dining room is particularly cosy, and the kitchen is equipped with anything you could wish for. The house is spacious and the beds comfortable! We will come again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thankyou! Happy that you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril D
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting for a family holiday or get together with friends”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Links View is an incredibly friendly house which instantly feels like home. It is spacious and well equipped and provides the perfect setting for a family holiday or a get together with friends.
It is in a fantastic location on the tranquil Holy Island. The ideal place for discovering the many hidden delights of the island and for endless walks through countryside and beaches. The castle is a short walk away as are the delightful village shops and quaint pubs all of which are very friendly and welcoming.
As a return visitor to the house my family and i have enjoyed wonderful holidays there and plan to enjoy more in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your Easter holiday at Links View!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A welcoming house for a family holiday”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary by taking the family (7 of us, including grandchildren aged 7 and 3) for a long weekend. We found the house welcomingly large and comfortable, especially the lounge and the dining kitchen. The toys and books provided for visitors added to the feeling of being at home. A larger outdoor area, perhaps with garden furniture, would have been welcome, but there is so much to see and explore that the whole Island becomes your playground and there is in the very air the sense of being safe and blessed. A Holy island in spirit as well as in name!
Verdict? The children want to know when we are coming back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
We're happy that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend! Now the weather is warmer, the garden furniture is coming out. Hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen U
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coastal walks, warm and cosy house, family together...”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Now part of our regular meeting points, we have spent successive February, 4 generation family weekends at Links View and love the location and house. We have everything we could wish - even books to our liking! Thanks to Rachel for a very efficient service.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Great to hear that all four generations enjoy the house and Island! Like our bookshelves, we want Links View to provide something for everyone :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing