We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment”
Review of The Coach Inn

The Coach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Lesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A quintessential, picturesque English pub with an award winning flower arrangement featured around the grounds, large beer gardens to the front and rear serving a light bites, British Classics and refined al a carte menus to suit all tastes.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Being women we like to do things when we feel like it so tonight the seven of us female clan decided to go to the coach for a late bite to eat, the steaks were all cooked to pergection, the chicken was very nice and juicy and the steak pie was to die for, once again friendlt atmosphere, great food and great company......keep up the good work

Helpful?
Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    68
    26
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we didn't pass by”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Pretty pub from the outside and after passing by so many times in the past decided to call in. Definitely the right decision! Food excellent, hot, fresh, good portions and served in good time. Warm welcome and friendly service. Lovely pub inside but we ate in the beer garden to make most of the sun - really pretty and quiet. Will definitely visit again and feel we've stumbled upon a gem.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumbriabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch a dream!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My partner and I popped into The Coach Inn on Sunday for lunch. Having visited before the new management took over, (a very NASTY experience I must say with the last manager) we decided to give it a go again. We are so pleased we did!! Sunday lunch £9.95 a little expensive, but when the meal arrived WOW!! it was lovely. Well presented and the meat was very tasty, served on a bed of potato mash, which to say the least , was to die for!!! We would certainly recommend it to other people. The new Management also made us feel very welcome and were very friendly. Will see you soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quality wins over quantity”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently visited The Coach Inn on the spur of the moment as we were passing and we were not disappointed. The ambience of the place is lovely, clean, friendly staff. We all chose something different from the menu (liver, pork and leek pie, gammon chop and the pork fillet special of the day). We were all impressed by the presentation and how well cooked all of the dishes were. The pork fillet special was particularly tasty. We all very much enjoyed our visit and would certainly recommend it to other people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A nice little Run out”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

So- Gail and I decided on going out for tea last night and I suggested a run up the coast, I had a place in mind- The Coach Inn at Lesbury just outside Alnwick-
We enjoy the North East coast and even though the weather going up was....a bit wet-I still get a kick driving through Amble and then seeing the great view of Walkworth Castle.- I diverse-
on arrival at the Coach Inn we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to a table- now- the menu is not extensive, but there is a good choice-and always a specials board with some unusual choices- last nigh- Swordfish and paella-- Gail and I both had the fish and chips and it was well worth the choice- Real chips- not frozen- the fish was cooked to perfection and the mushy peas well tasty- a nice touch with an individual pot of Tatar sauce-the staff were on the ball and attentive but not hovering. The starters looked interesting- we did not have one- but a couple came in and had a starter and sweet- interesting idea- there was also a home made Scotch egg with potatoes and side that was kind of in-between starter and a main- now the Coach inn is not cheap- £11.50 for the fish and chips and again pricey for a steak- I never get why all restaurants over charge for steak when you can buy it very cheaply- I diverse again- so in-between pub food and restaurant prices, But Great setting- Great staff- Great food--Give it a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach Inn also viewed

 
Alnmouth, Alnwick
 

Been to The Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing