We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Place”
Review of Barnacre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnacre
Ranked #1 of 1 Longhirst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I were down in the area for a Wedding and chose Barnacre as our base for the weekend. As my father was coming along to help look after the kids we were put into the Granary. It was perfect, to be honest I don't think I have stayed in any nicer a place. The place was beautiful and the space we had was brilliant. The rooms were all spacious and clean and tastefully decorated. The living area was also perfect. The sky TV had all the channels which was a hit with my father as he could watch the movies while babysitting the kids. Breakfast was great and the grounds were brilliant. The kids loved playing out on the large lawn before heading to the wedding. I can't see how anyone could fault the place. There are much dearer places around that would not be a nice as this. Will certainl

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have stayed at the Barnacre 4 times now and still cannot find any problems or criticism. The location is perfect for having a short weekend break from where we live and the size of the property is perfect.
We had a party of 10 adults celebrating a 50th birthday but also because the Dining Room is spacious and comfortable we also prepared a Christmas Meal for the group, after all it was the 1st December!
Bedrooms are clean, presentable and comfortable. Snooker room perfect for the guys to leave us women to chat!
The only criticism if any, is the kitchen is a little small and the oven is a little slow but we manage.
Fabulous stay and we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Perfect location to get to Longhirst Hall for celebration events of Golfing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logieolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just spent a week self catering at Barnacre. The property is very spacious & has an unusual layout which adds to the enjoyment. Nice lawns with a few chickens running free. Clearly a significant amount of capital has spent on this property. However, it is impossible to give the 5 star rating and 3.5* is probably about right - here's why:
a) Property was starting to look a little tired (e.g. kitchen units)/soiled arm rests on suite in lounge
b) 2 Bathrooms contained mould around sanitaryware & all baths needed re-sealing
c) Kitchen units & work surfaces (on arrival) were sticky & had not been cleaned properly
c) A number of doors stuck on the floor tiles about two-thirds the way open
d) The floor and table tennis table in the garage were covered (and I do mean covered) in guano (bird muck) - unhealthy & unforgivable! Are they running a bird sanctuary or a holiday let?
e) The beds in 4 bedrooms were worn out & probably never of a good quality (inconsistent with the rest of the property)
f) Given that there is no shop or pub in the village a small quantity of milk to make tea on arrival would have been nice

The faults are a little more than end of season tiredness and frustratingly could easily be put right to merit the property truly being five stars - have the owners lost their passion for the business? If the above does not bother you then you'll have a nice time at Barnacre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PeteW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnacre, Owner at Barnacre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

I am sorry this guest was so upset by his experience at Barnacre, this is the first time I have had any negative feedback other than the weather. I am not 5 star but 4 star. I wish the guest had told me of his cncerns at the time and I would have put as much right as I could. For the information of any future guests, new beds are on order and will be arriving at the end of Oct 12. The kitchen is planned to be refurbished at the end of this season. The other points will be dealt with. Thank you for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

this is a 5 star guesthouse very roomy and spotless throughout. we where impressed and will return.
good breakfasts. with a super chinese resteraunt 3 miles away in morpeth

Room Tip: you can't go wrong here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkShooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed 5 nights for Christmas and what a lovely house to celebrate Christmas. Plenty of room for our two families. This is our second time staying here and would almost certainly stay again. In fact we are hoping to have a weekend break there to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary in Feb 2012. Linda is most accommodating and very friendly. Facilities are second to none - just like home from home. Would recommend to anyone for weekend break or week stay. Perfect location and perfect house.

Room Tip: Master Bedroom - en Suite lovely and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logieolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The accommodation was perfect for our 4 day stay with Linda and Bryan. Our party comprised 4 couples and we were convinced that we could have not found anywhere to compare with these facilities. Rooms were well equipped and spotlessly clean. The lounges were spacious, comfortable and fitted with good quality furniture. The finishing touches showed good taste which was probably done by Linda. We even found the secret door to the pool table room. We have no reservations whatsoever in recommending Barnacre. There is no doubt that we will return to this fantastic part of the country and Barnacre.
We did however did cook some excellent Craster kippers in the well equipped kitchen. This didn't seem quite right but we were on our holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M_FAIRBROTHER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights after finding on Late Rooms. Were very impressed. Booked a suite & when we arrived were given a cottage with 3 bedrooms & a separate lounge with Sky tv (incl movies & sports) & free wifi. Breakfast was very good with plenty choice & caters for vegetarians (which i am) Not much locally but Morpeth is a short drive away. Kids loved playing table tennis in the garage & there is also a very friendly dog. So good hubby has booked to go back in October.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazbo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhirst
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Swan at Choppington
The Swan at Choppington
#1 of 2 in Choppington
129 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Morpeth Inn
The Morpeth Inn
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
80 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anglers Arms
Anglers Arms
#2 of 2 in Choppington
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacre

Address: Longhirst NE61 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Longhirst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longhirst
Price Range: £83 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnacre offers B&B or self-catering accommodation. The adjoining Granary is also available for B&B or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barnacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacre Longhirst, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing