We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great service"”
Review of Shoulder of Mutton

Shoulder of Mutton
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #2 of 2 Longhorsley B&B and Inns
mansfield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Great service"”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed one night, check in very good ,room and facilities very good.The bar staff good and locals very friendly gave us good advice for our night out in Morpeth. Breakfast very good served with a smile. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryandlesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    15
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked in for sunday lunch at the shoulder of mutton, staff were very friendly and enthusiastic, really seemed to care about their customers. Vegetables and meat on cavery were very nice, especially the cabbage, the dessert toffee crunch cake was lovely, only downfall was that the yorkshire puddings and roast postatos seemed to be frozen, similar to aunt bessies, and you were only offered one yorkshire pudding All in all though was good value for money and the drinks prices were reasonable too. Would go back if all food was all homemade.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I checked out all the local pubs in this area and decided on the shoulder of mutton to celebrate my 60th. The staff were friendly and the food reasonable pub grub. Last night when friends and I got together for my celebration however, I couldn't believe that there were only two staff serving and attempting to cover the crowded bar and the restaurant. There was a Burns' night on and the car park was packed. The two ladies tried gallantly to cope but there were embarrassingly long waits for any kind of service in the restaurant which was a real shame. As one of the ladies appeared to be the landlady, I'm not sure why she hadn't put on extra staff but, had we known, we certainly would have booked elsewhere. In fact, we'd had a wonderful dining experience at the Snowy Owl in Cramlington the previous evening which made last night;s effort at the shoulder of mutton look very poor indeed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthWozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been here many times over the last couple of years ,sometimes with family and friends and sometimes just the two of us. We always find a warm welcome and feel at home there.Tables not crammed together as in so many places. Our visits have been mainly for the Sunday Carvery which we always enjoy, you can have the choice of one ,two or three meats and various veg, they do have a alternative menu other than the carvery which my Daughter usually has..Well worth a visit !!.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 555good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I tried this local pub on the spur of the moment. We received an enthusiastic welcome and chose soup and sausage and mash. Generous portions and we asked for additional vegetables as I am not a great meat eater but enjoy the trimmings. This was not a problem. We ate in the bar but there was a restaurant area which we could have used. There were several specials available also. We have now booked for the Sunday carvery. Lovely fire going in the bar area too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped here only because the SatNav had it down as a restaurant on our route back the Bellingham from the coast. We arrived on a Sunday late afternoon and opted for the carvery option. Beef was excellent and cooked just on the right side of rare, 2 other meat choices as well. Good choice of vegetables as well. Had room left at the end for puddings, 2x sticky Toffee and 2x brownies devoured. Great friendly service throughout. Great spot by the Sat Nav and would return again when in the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank spudd_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently stayed at The Shoulder of Mutton when my son was playing in a golf tournament nearby. I have to say I was completely taken aback by the hospitality we enjoyed. The food was excellent - I would recommend the steak deal - book early as the restaurant can be very busy.
The rooms were nothing fancy but very clean and the beds were comfortable which suited our needs.
We will certainly stay again or if passing we would certainly pop in to say hello!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanR844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
115 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#3 of 29 in Morpeth
182 reviews
6.3 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoulder of Mutton

Property: Shoulder of Mutton
Address: East Road, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoulder of Mutton 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shoulder of Mutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoulder Of Mutton Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing