We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay”
Review of Beacon Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Hill Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent accommodation, and so quiet. There were lots of cottages occupied but never felt pushed for space in the swimming pool and spa area. Lovely area and lots to do as well. Would certainly recommend coming here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in Stable Cottage just after Easter. What a fantastic holiday! Beacon Hill was recommended to us by friends who return annually. We hope to rebook for next year and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

We were greeted by Alun the owner who took us on a tour of the farm in his golf buggy, including a forest to explore, indoor and outdoor play area, swimming pool (and lots more). My 5 year old boy was sold straight away!

We then got to the cottage to find complementary Easter eggs for our children and wine and cake for the adults. Daughter sold! Mum sold!

A trip to the games room revealed a hockey table and table tennis. Husband sold!

Fab facilities, friendly welcoming owner, clean well equipped cottage, beautiful surroundings, great days out in the local area. What more could you want?!







Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank kathryn5489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our fourth visit to Beacon Hill and we love everything about it. The cottages are extremely well furnished and equipped and very comfortable. The views of the surrounding hills are amazing at all hours of the day. We always feel as though the cares of the world disappear when we are at Beacon Hill .It is so easy to reach Morpeth for shopping and eating out , and the attractions of Northumberland and the Borders are within reasonable driving distance. Thank you to Alun and his family for providing such fantastic accommodation and , not least, for the wine and provisions we found in the cottage on arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcr41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Beacon Hill at Feb half term having been recommended by a friend, and having seen the reviews on here. Both the website and the reviews all lived up to expectations. Our cottage was beautiful, and the views were stunning.
The kids loved all the facilities especially the pool and the games room, and the buggy ride from Chris at the start got them giddy straight away. They loved the Harry Potter trail...although after going round it twice I was more appreciative of the bottle of wine for winning!
Chilling out by a log fire at night was lovely, and the nice touches of wine, flowers, biscuits etc all do make a difference.
We ate out at the Anglers arms which we can highly recommend. Trips to Alnwick, Bamburgh and all areas around the coast all added to a brilliant time.
Overall a fabulous weekend, and we hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Look at the map on the website to see where the cottages are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLJ225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a wonderful week at Beacon Hill Farm. Upon arrival it looked clean, tidy, and well-kept. In our cottage we found a bottle of wine, a cake, and most importantly, tea and milk so we could have a drink after a long drive. Our cottage was small but very well equipped: the washing machine was very useful with two small boys on holiday, and the dishwasher saved a lot of washing up. The cottage was well-furnished with nice, interesting furniture - not bland self-assembly stuff.
On site, we used the swimming pool every day, as well as the associated facilities (steam room, jacuzzi, laconium). The boys enjoyed the adventure room and playing table football and air hockey, and the evening cooking dinner over a camp fire in the woods was excellent.
Beacon Hill is well located for lots of interesting places: Newcastle, the coast, several National Trust properties, and of course, Hadrian's Wall. We also went further afield and visited the National Railway Museum outpost at Shildon. A great week was had by all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have been visiting Beacon Hill for twenty years and it never disappoints. We stayed in the beautifully appointed Merlin Cottage which has wonderful views. The Farm was carpeted in glorious daffodils.
Morpeth has much to recommend it and some good places to eat and shop.
The beauty treatments at the Spa are very professional and much cheaper than city prices. Good to book in advance but they will always fit you in.
Alun and Christopher provide excellent customer service. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
Barter Books in Alnwick is a treasure trove and the cafe is good.
We broke our drive home to Edinburgh to visit Bamburgh. The castle is fascinating and a the beach is stunning. Plenty of excellent lunch places.

Room Tip: All cottages are lovely and very well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghMrsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed once before, recommended to friends and now bringing extended family, it's safe to say we love Beacon Hill! Adults and children are well catered for, the weather doesn't matter as there is so much do, one week is never enough. We will be back as soon as we can, thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arfmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
4.2 mi away
Felmoor Park
Felmoor Park
#2 of 15 in Morpeth
206 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#2 of 2 in Longhorsley
59 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Farm

Address: Beacon Hill Farm Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Longhorsley
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Hill Farm has 15 4 & 5 star Gold Award cottages set in 20 acres of gardens in the centre of a 360 acre estate near the Northumbrian coast. We also have 3 luxury Shepherds Huts sleeping two. We have a fabulous Spa easily accessed with a short walk through the gardens from all the cottages. Morpeth the nearby market town has a wide range of restaurants and pubs. Beacon Hill is a wonderful place from which to discover the beauties that Northumberland offers from the heritage coast to Alnwick Garden. We are ideally positioned to visit the many National Trust properties in the area. PLEASE NOTE:- The cottages are let for 7 nights minimum from April til October. The Hideaways are available for short breaks all the year round. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Farm Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing