We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and friendly service”

Shoulder of Mutton Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent food and friendly service”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Pub lounge was a bit dingy and were pleased to eat in the separate restaurant area. It was steak night, was good value and reasonable quality. Wine selection limited.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank erinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    55
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reg c”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

1st impressions of the restaurant were of a dimly lit( Light bulbs missing throughout ) dingy old bar. Oak tables with no effort made make it look inviting. There were 5 of us and 2 of us ordered steak to be told there was only 1 left, this at 6.30.pm on a Thursday evening. There were only 3 other people in the restaurant. I was the one who got the steak unfortunatly it was so tough I had to send it back .I was told the steak and ale pie was delicious as was the cod. I opted for roast beef which was fine. The sweet choice was unremarkable. The service was good though I feel that the food was a bit overpriced. All in all a disappointing visit. To be fair. they did noy charge for my main course.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcala la Real, Spain
Level Contributor
153 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Desperate Dan Portions”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stopped here for Sunday lunch en route from Cambridge to Aberdeen. The food was traditional and good. The steak and ale pie was delicious. It may seem an odd complaint but the portions were embarrasingly ginormous. I think the majority of customers would be happy with just a little less. I hate to see good food wasted! Highly recommended - if you are starving!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loabydosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The pub was very shabby”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Often thought of visiting previously the pub is very shabby could not wait to drink off and go. Don't know what the food would be like

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The food was lovely, top rump steak, very enjoyable, we were staying just a few miles away in felmoor park, well worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoulder of Mutton Pub also viewed

 

Been to Shoulder of Mutton Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing