We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”

Shoulder of Mutton Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Popped in whilst driving past with the aim of having a sandwich an drink. The wife chose the hot beef baguette which had the thickest slices of roast beef ever and I had the turkey, ham n leek pie . . .both really tasty and filling. Service was very friendly and welcoming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephenI56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were staying with relatives and decided to eat out. My brother thought they didnt do carvery but when we got there they did. The beef was lovely and tender as was the turkey. Plenty of choice for the veg. It was reasonably priced and therefore would recommend eating here. Staff were very pleasent too. All in all a good sunday lunch. :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Traditional menu of "pub favourites" plus a few extras, but then have additional specials each night (sometimes a steak night), plus (fairly standard) kids menu, so something for everyone. Very flexible, eg swapping veg, potatoes, splitting a dessert in two for the kids (and presenting each beautifully, rather than just providing two spoons and one dish). Friendly, helpful staff.

But watch out if you go in the ladies as the taps spray water over all of you, not just your hands!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AAAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Was disappointed, we've passed this pub a few times & said that we would stop for food & drink. Although it looked nice the roast beef was rather tough & chewy, everything else was lovely though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We ate here last year and had good food. Sadly, standards appear to have dropped and our food was okay, but not good enough for me to recommend a visit. 'Wine by the glass' now consists of a small bottle of mediocre wine. The curry sauce tasted good, but was so runny I could have drunk it through a straw and the soup so thick it was a puree. Chicken good, but gammon not. Disappointing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank clogmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoulder of Mutton Pub also viewed

 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Longhorsley, Morpeth
 

Been to Shoulder of Mutton Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing