We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pampering get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Linden Hall provided the perfect venue for my friend and I to meet up. I am 8 months pregnant and was looking for a relaxing break just before the chaos hits next month. My friend is also getting married soon and so was looking for a bit of pre-wedding pampering. Linden Hall exceeded all of our expectations.

We had a lovely twin room over-looking the stunning manicured lawns - soft beds, attractively furnished etc.

We each chose 2 different treatments in the spa and were left feeling very relaxed and spoilt afterwards. My pregnancy was taken into account and every effort was made to ensure my comfort throughout the afternoon session.

Dinner in the dining room was superb. The kitchen really does deserve its 2 AA Rosette status. The breakfasts weren't too bad either!

All the staff I encountered throughout the weekend were very professional, friendly and polite - very impressive.

All in all a much enjoyed stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,811 - 1,817 of 2,008 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

Beautiful old building that is being turned in to a corporate hotel, loosing the individuality of the fantastic old building, this could be such a fantastic place with the right decor, but the staff were very good well mannered and friendly and ready to help

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We took my husband's Mum as an 80th birthday treat, after we stayed at Guisborough hall last year. Unfortunately we were disappointed. The rooms were extremely hot, with underfloor heating, which was eventually turned down, but only after a sleepless night. We left the window open - the sash window opened by itself - top and bottom, as soon as the catch was taken off - but we were above the kitchen, which was very noisy late at night and then early next morning. Our deal included dinner in the hotel 'pub' - service was poor as they were short staffed with one poor woman trying to do everything until help arrived later on. Some food was off the menu - apparently it was in the process of being changed - but also they only get strawberries from Egypt, so the recent trouble put paid to that. Pity they didn't think to try the local garden centre.
The bathroom door hinge was broken and the floor tiles cracked and broken.
Breakfast was great. As always, the staff were lovely, but what a pity that the minor things aren't attended to.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyContribution1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

enjoyed an overnight stay with spa treatment. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful and the room itself was very nice. The full english we had in the morning was tasty. There is a nice little pub in the village that we visited on the evening. The spa was relaxing and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishspartan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Room large, and clean, beds very comfortable, Bathroom clean, could have been upgraded but everything worked well.The Linden Bar was lovely to sit in and watch sport if that's your thing.....Also ate there and the food was reasonable and very good. The hotel staff were pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast nice though had to wait in a queue............. Did not use the spa facilities as they were fully booked, however did have a wee look and everything looked good. If you want a massage facial etc I would recommend you book well in advance....I tried the week before we went and could not get booked. Overall lovely place for a romantic weekend.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank donnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Had a lovely relaxing stay at Linden Hall, great value for money (Winter package deal), accommodation, staff & food were excellent. Very helpfull staff nothing is too much bother they go out of their way to be helpfull and give very good service. The food in the Linden bar was very good as was the service. Rooms are very clean and well stocked with all your requirements. Would definately go again and also recommend this hotel to family and friends.
Only downside I think overall the hotel and bedrooms are in need of refurbishment but this does not stop anyone having a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mim0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed with my partner over the weekend and had a ball. As we entered the hotel we were met by charming young man in tails who checked us in. Things never got off to a great start as we werent too happy with our room however for a small supplement we upgraded to a suite which was much more suitable. We ate in the main restaurant - the food is AMAZING. Spa facilities were comfortable although a little tired looking. The staff at this hotel have to be the best we've ever experienced, polite, welcoming and never say no. Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolt687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
395 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
536 reviews
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range: £92 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing