We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in a magical setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Linden Hall is a true gem of a hotel set in the heart of the Northumbrian countryside. We enjoyed a perfect two night stay in one of the feature rooms (238) within the original main house. An exceptionally large room bosting a very comfortable bed provided with all the modern comforts of home as well as spectacular views out over the gardens and golfcourse.
We chose this hotel as it featured a spa. we were not dissapointed. The spa complete with pool, jaccuzi. sauna and steam room is the ideal place to relax after a busy days sightseeing.
Dinner on the first evening in the restaurant was a treat. Following an a la carte menu we were made to feel very welcome by all the waiting staff. Breakfast on both mornings pwas of an exceptionally high standard.
We choose to spend our second night in the Local pub within the estate. (The Linden Tree) relaxed and less formal than the main hotel. Meals were of excellent quality and very reasonably priced too. A nice touch considering the pub is also is operated by Macdonald. Well worth a visit.
Overall an ideal location to escape to with nothing too much trouble for all the staff.

Thank you. we are looking forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

Have just enjoyed three nights at the Linden Hall Hotel. It felt like we were entering a stately home - huge reception area, squishy sofas, lovely views.
The staff were very helpful, especially Sean in the hotel restaurant. On the two mornings we went down to breakfast at 7.15 he was all smiles and very obliging. This was despite being the only one on duty at the time, delivering room service and on the third morning being asked to show a new member of staff what to do as well as serve. On top of that he makes perfect toast! Thank you Sean for giving us a good start to the day.
The setting is beautiful and the atmosphere quiet and informal. Our room was in a new extension set around a courtyard. It was quite luxurious with a huge bed, iron and board, trouser press and "efficient". hair drier. There was a gym, pool and spa as well as a golf course. A lovely place for a relaxing break.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimnJean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was our second stay at Linden Hall so we must have enjoyed it the first time. Sometimes returning can be a disappointment but we need not have worried. The setting in the middle of the golf course and grounds is truly relaxing.

All the staff were very attentive without being intrusive, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The restaurant food was of a standard we would only expect to experience in a five star hotel using locally sourced ingredients and beautifully presented. Breakfasts were cooked to order, such a treat these days as most hotels have adopted the buffet style which results in dry and over cooked bacon, sausages etc.

Thank you to all at Linden Hall for a wonderful stay. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I wanted to take my wife for a nice relaxing break on her birthday and we picked this hotel because of its location and good reviews. we were pleasantly surprised by the service we received when we got there. we were greeted by a lovely lady at the reception who we later found out to be the manageress of the hotel. the room we were given was absolutely fantastic with great views overlooking golf course. it was really clean and smelt fresh. we later decided to use pool and spa and thoroughly enjoyed the facilities. our best moment came when we went to hotel restaurant Dobson for our dinner. I have to say my food was truly outstanding, my wife is vegetarian so she requested waiter if chef would prepare something vegetarian for her. nothing was too much for the waiters and my wife was served rosette which she said was best ever she has tasted. we both were very impressed by friendly and amazing service so much that we still remember the names of the staff who served us. the waiter Vikram and restaurant manager William are asset to this hotel. we had breakfast in the morning and were not disappointed with the quality. I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, amenities, food and specially service. Thank you Vikram, WIlliam AND hotel manager Suzanne & Linden hall staff for making our special day extra Special.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

A large group of us (family & friends) stayed for the weekend to celebrate our daughter & the attentive serviceson in laws wedding.
From our arrival on the Friday afternoon to departure on Sunday lunchtime, we felt pampered & special.
Absolutely nothing was a trouble for all of the staff we encountered during our stay. Smiling, polite, effective service was the norm.

Quite a few of the goods & services used by my daughter for various parts of the day were not booked though the hotel. But not once did this detract from the service given by the staff.

From the service, which took place in a lovely upstairs room, to the drinks reception/photo session in the main Hall, to the utterly STUNNING main reception (wedding breakfast), everything was quite simply breathtaking !
The hotel coordinator on the day, James, did THE most attentive & professional job, whilst working in tandem with our daughters own coordinator.

The chosen meal was as spectacularley delicious on the day, as it was at the tasting we enjoyed some weeks previous. Kudos to the head chef and his talented staff.

And the transition from formal afternoon reception to evening celebration in the same room was so seemless it was barely noticable.

And, as mentioned by other reviewers, the breakfasts are SO good, they are also a highlight of the stay.

I managed to enjoy a couple of sessions in the lovely Spa area (gym,pool,steam & sauna rooms, & jacuzzi), which was a wonderful diversion from all the madness of the weekend.

Our rooms were wonderful, comfortable, well appointed, and we slept like babies.
The bridal suite was huge & spectacular.

Not one person on our guest list was anything other than totally complimentary about the whole affair & how it went.

My warmest and most grateful thanks go to Manager Seamus and his entire staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firestopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I've recently had my wedding at Linden Hall, and I cannot praise the staff enough!
After a disaster with my bridesmaids' dresses the night before the wedding, I was brought a bottle of champagne to cheer me up, compliments of the hotel, which I thought was a lovely touch!
The room when set up moved me to tears it was so perfect, and just what I'd dreamed it would look like, and the food was absolutely out of this world, as most of our guests commented on also! All of the staff, not just the wedding team were so attentive to the needs of everyone at all times, and I would highlt reccommend Linden Hall to anyone.
There were a few children in our party, and they were extreemly well catered for also.
The rooms were immaculate,and the facilities were second to none! I cannot praise it enough! We were so sad to leave, and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsanddel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We had the pleasure of holding our first son's christening at Linden Hall recently.

The setting, food and the sfaff were of the highest quality.

We arrived as a large group after the church christening to receive a very warm welcome from the front Office Manager and her team.

We proceeded to have welcome drinks and canapes in the lovely drawing room, followed by a superb three course meal in the South Restaurant, with the highlight being the Beef which was cooked to perfection.

Following this most enjoyable experience we arrived back in the drawing room for after dinner drinks in front of a log roaring fire and great company.

Some of our guests stayed overnight and enjoyed a fantastic cooked Macdonald breakfast before their departure home.

Everyone of our guest's thanked us and complimented the hotel and its superb staff. The Management team are a credit to Macdonald hotels and i would like to extend our personal thanks to Mr. Coen , General Manager for his attention to detail on our special family day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcknstv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
8.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range: £79 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing