We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, food poisoning and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Upon arrival we were barely greeted by the sullen lady at reception, who hardly even looked up to check us in. We were finding it hard to speak with all the pungent carpet cleaner in the air (the air was thick with carpet cleaner). We made our way through the maze of tired carpets and unjustly awarded AA rosettes to our room. The room was nothing like how it was advertised, but clean nevertheless, and the tea tray had a very nice piece of shortbread on it, little did we know this would be the nicest food we would eat during our stay.

We left the room to soak up the atmosphere before dinner. There wasn't any so we went back to the room and waited. We walked in the drizzle (to be fair that's not the hotel's fault) to the on site pub/restaurant (?), there were 2 menu's- it was confusing and upset my boyfriend. He felt like a second class citizen opting for the pub menu. There was only 1 other person eating in the jazzy carpeted pub; there was more of a buzz at my git of a dead grandfathers funeral. The food was terrible and incredibly overpriced, and i contracted a very violent bout of squitty bottys from the £8.95 starter of prawn tempura on a bed of sad looking lettuce. In total the meal amounted to over £80 for a bottle of wine, 2 rums, 2 starters, 2 mains (burger & chilli con carne- don't ask!) and 1 pudding (3 scoops of Asda's soft scoop icecream, which cost £4, the same price as a glass of coke)! I also ordered an espresso, which never came.

We awoke with baited breath, having had a decent nights sleep, excited to see what breakfast had in store for us. Oh, we weren't disappointed! Whilst not being too underwhelmed by the continental buffet, I was confounded when it came to choosing where to sit. There were circa 40 empty tables, with one other party of 2, sitting at the table which may well have been my first choice. The other couple looked equally unenthused by their dining experience, little did we know they had already had the misfortune of sampling the cooked brekky. My boyfriend ordered eggs, sausages and tomatoes. Out came a big plate with one fun sized sausage, one egg yolk sans egg white and half a medium sized tomato. It looked hilarious.

We toyed with idea of staying another night, not! We packed our bags, which may or may not have had no more than 6 tea bags, 3 mini condiments and 2 pieces of fruit in them. We didn't arrive with them, that's all i'm saying. We awkwardly intruded the two receptionists' conversation to ask if we could leave. The awkwardness was quickly abaited when they continued their conversation anyway. After being subjected to an extraordinarily uninspiring gnatter, we were allowed to leave and wittily sang "we had a bad stay", a hilarious and apt spin on the well known single "bad day" by Daniel Powter.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tyron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Lovely hotel in nice setting. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Food in Linden Tree pub average. Classic room (113) was small as was the bed within it. No point in asking for larger room as we were told hotel was full. Our friends were luckier having got a larger room for same price

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank billobe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After a bad visit here over a year ago we were offered a much reduced cost return visit which we took up in November 2013.

We checked in without a problem and made our way through the hotel to the refurbished rooms at the Spa end of the hotel. It was instantly evident that things had improved as last year the room we were put into was cold and damp. Now we were welcomed by a pleasant warm room.

Previously the rooms had been small, dark and dirty. Now the new ambiance of a modern, airy and overall clean room was presented to us. The touch of providing us with a fresh fruit and chocolate platter was quite unexpected.

The bedding was clean and crisp with a great nights sleep ahead of us.

The bathroom shower was powerful and drenching with a good selection of toiletries to be used. Last year we had poor reception on the TV and while Freeview worked well on all stations BBC1 for whatever reason was pixilated and unwatchable. Perhaps this is more to do with reception rather than the fault of the hotel

We found all the staff to be pleasant and eager to help in anyway possible.

This was a much improved visit to Linden Hall which had lost some of its prestige over the years to those like myself who visited in the 1980's heydays. If the refurbishments continue to be carried out to such a high standard in the rest of the hotel I am sure its reputation will rise again as a premium 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are by the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived at Linden Hall with a small amount of trepidation after reading some of the reviews on here, especially as my husband received a phone call from the hotel the night before informing us that they were overbooked and would we be prepared to change the dates of our stay. My husband explained that this was not possible and so we arrived at the hotel expecting some kind of hiccup or another. We need not have worried. We were checked it and given directions to our room which was located in the newest part of the hotel near the spa. The room was very clean, modern and spacious with a good sized bathroom. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in. We opted out of eating in the restaurant and choose to eat in the pub instead. The pub was lovely and cosy with helpful friendly staff, although the food was distinctly average. Please do not book a meal here expecting great things; this is very average pub food and nothing more. The spa facilities were great and we thoroughly enjoyed using the pool, steam-room, sauna and jacuzzi. After reading the reviews, we weren’t particularly looking forward to breakfast. Once again we need not have worried. A selection of cereals and pastries are on offer whilst you wait for your cooked breakfast. The poached eggs were cooked to perfection, something I am very particular about. We ate out on the second evening (a wonderful pub in Alnmouth that does the best fish and chips). One of the most enjoyable things about our stay was sitting in front of the open fire with a bottle of wine on an evening. I do find it really puzzling in respect of some of the reviews on here. I can only conclude that some of the rooms in the older parts of the hotel are not up to scratch and that the service on those particular dates was not at its best for one reason or another. We have stayed in plenty of 4 and 5 star hotels so it is not just a case of being easily pleased either. The only negative comment I would make is the lack of service in the cocktail bar. My husband and I sat there for 20 minutes on our first evening and no-one showed up to take our drinks order. In the end we just left. Overall, a great mini break and we will definitely return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Judging by the reviews, it seems like the best rooms are perhaps in the newest parts of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzii1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our two nights at linden hall and the staff tried hard to remedy problems. Our room was fine but not special and our daughters slightly smaller. Our standard lamp was faulty (dangerous) and was removed on the second day but not replaced. The hot tap to the sink had no water. It we repaired on the second morning. The tv was a problem throughout our stay with intermittent reception, for which a free drink was offered as compensation.
BreakfAst was good and we enjoyed the facilities of the pub and spa.
The Dobson restaurant was good on the first evening and we enjoyed excellent food and service the second evening was poor in both respects.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellenanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Shabby, tired hotel. Staff that constantly apologised. The staff at the pub were run off their feet and then served us food that was of such poor quality we couldn't eat it! Don't waste your money there are better places than this hotel. I can't believe that the other reviews are mostly ok because we did not think this hotel was of any quality and my friend and I sat and watched guests complain one after another.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Proudy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I had 3 nights in Linden Hall and we loved every minute of it-from the minute we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.
We asked for a larger room and they went out of their way to accommodate us and we were very happy with a larger room near the spa.
The ambience of the whole place was old worldy charming and comfortable with a very comfortable happy feel about it! staff were all very friendly.
The dining area where we had breakfast each morning looked over the beautiful lush "greens" -the food was excellent.
We will definately recommend Linden Hall and hope to come back one day.
I hope they have wi-fi in all areas when we return-this was the only down side!

Room Tip: We had ordered a Deluxe double room but found them to be very small and asked for a larger one we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range: £91 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing