We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my wife stayed here on February 1st for 1 night and paid around £165 for dinner, bed and breakfast. I have stayed here several times over the last few years but this was the first time I had eaten in the Dobson restaurant instead of the pub next door. The food was very well presented and I was very impressed with the service. I would definitely eat there again, as we both had 3 courses and coffee and thoroughly enjoyed them all. We stayed in room 7 which was downstairs near the spa area. The room itself was newly refurbished and was very well presented. The only thing I didn't like was an adjoining door to the room next door. It was obviously locked, but I didn't like the fact that I could hear noise from the room next door. I asked at reception for non-feather pillows, and when we returned to the room, they were there for me. Breakfast was another huge plus as there was something for everybody and full English served to your table. The hotel and the grounds are lovely and very well kept. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 7 is ground floor and close to the spa and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in February following seven nights in two other Macdonald Hotels, The Linden Hall is a very impressive Hotel,The standard of the food is outstanding and is well worth its two rosetts.We did find the bar a bit expensive nearl eleven pounds for two shorts is taking the Mickey a little even in these surroundings and it was disapointing that you couldnt get a beer in the hotel, though you can walk to the "pub" at the golf club for a quick pint before dinner.All in all a lovely Hotel but probably because we had just stayed at two outstanding Macdonalds we were a little let down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We used this venue for an evening work training / meeting and as part of the hospitality food was provided. The food was nothing short of excellent and If this is the standard of food provided for such meetings then the restaurant must be well worth a visit. The surroundings were fabulous too and according to colleagues from further afield who were staying there the rooms were lovely. The service was great too, so all in all the Linden Hall gets a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in the Eleanor Room which was lovely. Clean and decorated well. We visited the spa – very nice.
The reception staff was very friendly and relaxed, happy to answer any questions and converse.
Bar staff – Friendly.
Breakfast was tasty.
Over all we had a fun night with friends and were made very welcomed.
Night-time Lighting: My only comment was they need to change the lighting outside they need more ambient light rather than directional it was hard to see/drive without being blinded. I am sure they will change this once they see my nice review.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to celebrate my daughter's 21st. Hotel was excellent, rooms lovely great comfy beds.

Spa was also very nice, ideal after playing golf in the cold wind.

The Evening meal & breakfast in The Dobson Restaurant really made our stay. Food was excellent, and a very nice touch by the staff to provide a bottle of bubbly as a gift from the hotel for my daughter.

10 out of 10, We'll Definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Billybhoy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have visited this hotel many times since it opened in the early 80's.
The location is lovely and the original building is beautiful with large rooms and a warming log fire in the hall (which hadn't been lit the morning we left).
The extension with smaller rooms is adequate but ordinary with flimsy doors (our bathroom door was badly chipped at the bottom). The colour scheme is also ordinary with beige and brown decor.
On our recent stay which was the first time for a few years, the staff were excellent but the hotel felt rather unloved, no large flower arrangements in the hall or other areas, the porters lodges had been removed leaving a rather bare space and there were no porters leaving the female reception staff to help with bags.
One of the nicest rooms, the drawing room where you could take afternoon tea and after dinner coffee or drinks had been set up for a meeting for a small conference group staying in the hotel with no warning to other guests, why couldn't they have used a meeting room? We found the cocktail bar cold and empty, we were the only guests in there, the others had gone to the pub.The wine by the glass was very expensive so maybe thats why it was quiet. A little classical relaxing music and a proper fire would have been more inviting rather than the electric fire placed in the beautiful old fireplace.
The dinner menu was fairly basic but the food was good when served and breakfast was excellent. The staff at both were excellent.
We came away with the impression that Macdonald were penny pinching and had spoilt the
lovely warm country house feel it once had.

Room Tip: For size of room and view go for the rooms in the old part of the hotel but ask if they have been re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A hidden gem in the Northumbrian countryside Linden Hall offers the perfect base to explore the surrounding countryside and to hide away from the 'rat race'. The spa offers an added bonus adding to the relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere. It was lovely and quiet when we stayed here in January and the room was spacious, warm and comfortable. Even with the rain lashing against the window it was a wonderful getaway. Breakfast was included in our package as was a lovely bottle of red on arrival. A really lovely night away! I'm sure we will be back....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,312 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
414 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
543 reviews
23.4 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range: £72 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing