We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic team at Linden Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic team at Linden Hall”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed at Linden Hall with my 7 year old son this week. We stayed for two nights in a classic double room with a nice view to the grounds in front of the hotel. From checking in right through to checking out, the staff were wonderful and a credit to the Macdonald chain. In particular, Alex in the Monck Cocktail bar was lovely and spent time with us to provide local knowledge and recommendations of where to visit. Matthew in the Dobson restaurant was very friendly and helpful - service with a smile :) I had the Ocean Radiance top-to-toe treatment in the Spa on our last morning, which I can thoroughoy recommend and Samantha was my wonderful therapist there. The pool is relatively small compared to pools at other hotels in the area, but it is clean, ambient and adequate. The food in the Dobson restaurant was exquisite and the team of waiting-on staff were remarkable. We both thoroughly enjoyed the overall experience and will definitely be making a repeat visit during the summer :) :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacko1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    550
    415
    180
    97
See reviews for
312
1,083
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived earlier than the stated check in time with the idea of having lunch first. When we originally booked the stay we forgot it was Mothers Day which made things much busier for the hotel than usual on a Sunday. On arrival our room wasn't ready to check in, the spa was full and the restaurant fully booked so we were left with a slight problem of being hungry and nowhere to go. The receptionist and manager stepped in to find us somewhere to eat lunch and upgraded our room for the inconvenience which was fantastic and a lovely gesture.
We used the Spa after lunch and both had massages which were good and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
We ate 3 courses at the Linden Tree pub for the evening meal which was again of a very high quality with some decent wines available too. The only issue we really had was the price of the alcoholic drinks, we didn't realise until the next day that 2 G&T's or a couple of rums will set you back about £16 ( I believe these were single measures too). Seems a little excessive to us?!
Our room was an executive suite next to the spa which was spacious and had a good sized bed. The breakfast was lovely too, the wife had the smoked haddock which was delightful! Overall lovely location, friendly and helpful staff but pricey drinks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. The hotel was very charming and full of character. Our room was spacious and clean. The breakfasts were very good and the staff were extremely friendly. I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it hadn't been for the rather shabby state of some of the spa facilities, they could do with an update. Also originally we had booked for 3 nights and decided we would like to stay a further night. When we asked about staying in our room we were told that that room was not available and it appeared that there were no other rooms available. We asked again the following morning and were told that they would see if something could be done as we would really have liked to stay for the final night of our visit. We were told later that day that there was nothing they could do apart from offer us an executive suite which would cost us £40 more. We asked if they could not offer an upgrade to someone who had booked to arrive on the Wednesday and leave us in our room, the girl said no, they were not allowed to give complimentary upgrades, it was the general managers rule. We then had to check out and find somewhere else for one night. Surely it would have benefitted the hotel to have another nights payment from us than nothing at all and have rooms empty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

If I gave the rooms a 2 Star rating it would a Star too generous. I booked a Double Feature Bedroom for one night with dinner & breakfast for my wife's birthday for 28th March. It was sold to me on the phone as a 'fabulous big spacious room, well worth the upgrade to £250'. It wasnt. Not even close. To start with, we had a late check in time of 3pm, then when we got there we couldn't get into the room until 4pm due to a wedding reception. Things went downhill after that. The first room we were shown into was small and grubby with stained carpets, bedding and a grim bathroom. It was in no way spacious or anywhere near fabulous. We complained and were shown another room which was bigger and had a four poster bed but it was still, to put it mildly, grim, with dirty upholstery, curtains that were falling to bits and little or no hot water. We got a free bottle of wine and £40 off the bill but if these are their best rooms, God knows what the basic ones are like.

I give them two stars because the stay was saved single handedly by the superb service by James in the Dobson Restaurant and the excellent food we got. Everyone in the restaurant deserves a lot of credit. Breakfast was nice, but at £17.50 a head far too expensive.

In short then; dire and grim overpriced rooms but excellent restaurant. We will NOT be going back.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a nice stay here, very warm welcome when we arrived in heavy snow. Flexible eating, exceptionally accommodating, charming friendly staff. Room service breakfasts were outstanding, Husband claimed sausages were the BEST ever!!
Disappointing SPA, broken tiles in the pool, grit in the bottom of pool, awful changing rooms in desperate need of upgrading.
Front of house staff really are a credit to this hotel.
Would stay again once the spa is upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skybird2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is luxury second to none. From the second we walked in we were made to feel welcome and at ease. The food in the Dobson restaurant was absolutely divine; the pub was also really delicious and incredible value for money. Highly recommend the Hotel for relaxing breaks away. The spa and spa treatments are exceptional. Nothing negative to say.

The grounds and the area it is set in are fabulous and close to the Holy island. Hadrian’s Wall and Newcastle.

Highly recommend the Holy Island

Room Tip: Prepare to be relaxed, remember your swimming costumes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Dirty and unprofessional.
Only 1 toilet, 1shower and 1 hair dryer. Only 1 changing cubicle. Makeup/dressing up area right next to toilet were guests wash their hands.
The small handful of beds that were there were taken up so nowhere to sit/relax.
Hung dressing gown up and went into shower to find out that whilst I was in shower an employer had took the dressing gown, with my phone and bank card in pockets and put it in the wash. Now I have no phone.

Will NOT be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
368 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,037 reviews
22.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Property: Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing