We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed with classic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointed with classic room”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

booked through secret escapes and did get bargain price, but the classic room was on the top floor, the room was small and like an attic room. asked for a different room but woud have to pay more than what we wanted to pay, yet the rooms were left empty. it was a hot day and the room was unbelievably hot, so a fan was provided, still hot. i would say the smallest 4* room ive ever had and therefore disappointing. the breakfast and spa was nice.

Room Tip: dont have 3rd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinden, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Dawn

Thanks for the feedback sorry we could not move you all our classics were full your room allthough slightly smaller does have great views and is one often requested for returning guests. I have amended your profile to ensure you are not allocated the same room in the future .I do hope you do return to enjoy again the breakfast and Spa. Thanks for taking the time to review its much appreciated

Regards

Andrew Thresh

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    541
    405
    176
    95
See reviews for
305
1,066
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Visited last weekend for a spa day with my family, the spa was so relaxing! Definitely what I needed at 8 months pregnant! Friendly staff, lovely facilities and a mouth watering 2 course lunch in the hotel! Would definitely return hopefully sooner rather than later!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FLT92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinden, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
A Beautiful Spa

High praise indeed and thank you for such a high score the spa girls are over the moon as is our new spa and leisure manager Rebecca

Regards

Andrew Thresh

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Let's get the negative out of the way - the rooms are a little small - well appointed but small. Now the positives. First a beautiful setting for a hotel, second staff who are polite, attentive and thoroughly attuned to the guest's requirements and thirdly (and the jewel in this hotel's crown) the restaurant where the food is so tasty and beautifully presented. To continue the restaurant theme this is a restaurant that all vegetarians should visit because the chef, (unsung hero in every good hotel), really knows how to cook and present vegetarian food - no bland risotto or pasta - real tasty meals. Although it's unfashionable to praise managers - the managers here should take credit for a very well managed hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinden, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Alan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and for such a fantastic score .The chef and his team are over the moon as am I your right the food is the centre piece of the hotel the chef Jerome is as comitted to the Pub to Banqueting quality as he is to the Dobson Restaurant we look forward to welcomng you back

Kind Regads

Anrew Thresh

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a two night break - and it had my wife and I confused. It is an absolutely stunning building with a fairly ordinary corporate hotel inside.

The night before we arrived we got an unexpected phone call from the hotel. “you’re booked in to the hotel tomorrow, what time would you want dinner”. Wow, good service we thought. We said 7:30, and thought no more of it. We arrived at the hotel, and as we checked in we were told that they had a large party for dinner and so we couldn’t have dinner when we wanted it would have to be an hour later – so we had dinner in the on-site pub – which was good with good service. But why phone the night before and agree a time they could not deliver.

Breakfast the following day service was not quick, but not quite slow enough to complain – asking twice for more coffee – just a niggle.

We decided to have afternoon tea, in the lounge, and having ordered it the tea and coffee came quickly, but 20 minutes later the rest of the tea hadn’t arrived. So we asked at reception and five minutes later the full tea arrived with no apology, just the excuse that everything was freshly made – that would be the four finger sandwiches then.

The room was small and not very practical – and the decoration standard in the bathroom was not top notch, but it was comfortable and clean.

We got a corporate email from the hotel asking just how splendid a time we had there, and we told the same story - so far, no response from the hotel.
As the title says, good, but just not good enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinden, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Peter

Thanks for the feedback obviously a couple of niggles to sort out to get you from good to great but rest assured myself and my team are commited to do just that .Thanks again for taking the time to write

Andrew Thresh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Myself my sister and mam visited on Saturday for a birthday treat. We had a lovely day the staff were so friendly. I had a facial which is a must. Jayde was fab I was so relaxed and my skin felt lovely. Will definitely return. We enjoyed our lunch and desert too.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodietaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinden, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Jodie,

I am delighted that you your sister and Mam had such a good time thank you so much for taking the time to write your review . We would love to see you back hopefully before your Mams next birthday

Regards

Andrew Thresh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay at linden hall, and it was just perfect, all the staff were very welcoming, and our room lovely, as was the view, the gardens are outstanding, because we had such lovely weather, it would have been nice to have had more seating outside, great value, we will certainly return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinden, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Elaine,

Thank you for your kind review Perfect is a very high measure and both myself and my team are delighted with your recognition it was lovely weather we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Andrew Thresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in Linden Hall over the weekend. Having read the comments on trip advisor we requested 2 executive rooms, newly refurbished in the spa area. We were not disappointed. Spotless, bright comfy rooms. Away from noise. Worth asking for.

The staff are so friendly. Very accommodating and nothing is too much bother. Although they didn't have skimmed milk at brekkie! But yummy veggie option.

We ate in the main restaurant for dinner. The Dobson 3courses for £25. Double AA rosette. Worth it.

Lunch was outside in the pub having played 18 holes of golf. 9 of them in the rain! But big shout out to the pro who lent me his waterproof golf cover. I also had to buy sunderlands so I now have my own waterproof trousers!!! But don't plan on using them much!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLinden, General Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Susan,

Thanks for taking the time to review and for your kind comments.It was such a shame about the weather its been so nice since I have thanked the Pro personnally for his gesture re the waterproofs hopefully next time you wont need them and he can give you some sun block

Regards

Andrew Thresh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
8.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Property: Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing