We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Ruby Wedding Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Our Ruby Wedding Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We renewed our wedding vows after 40 years of marriage in a thanksgiving service in the church where we were first married. The event was reported in the local press because we had the same vicar, organist and photographer that we had on our wedding day in 1974. We then went to Linden Hall for our wedding lunch.
Jerome, their chef, had done us proud.The welcome drink was a fruit punch which was very refreshing.The buffet was spectacular, beautifully prepared and set out. He made our Ruby Wedding cake. The marzipan scroll with our names piped on was too special to eat .We are hoping to preserve it as a souvenir. We hired the hotel table magician to entertain our guests, which he did very effectively.
Nathan looked after us really well during our stay. He has a quick wit and anticipated everything we needed. Our waitress Becky was charming on the second evening when we had a special dinner in the Dobson Restaurant expertly cooked by Dan. It was all coordinated by our Fairy Godmother, Karen who allocated a room with a fabulous panaramic view of the serene grounds of Linden Hall seen from every window.
We wound down and relaxed in the Spa the next day and enjoyed the facilities,especially the jacuzzi. Our photos are taken in the natural setting of the gardens and in a private area of the Dobson restaurant which was reserved for us.
We had the time of our lives then, a national publication commisioned our unique wedding story and we knew that our wedding day was always going to be special.

Room Tip: Upper floor for a view of the gardens and golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    534
    401
    174
    93
See reviews for
300
1,052
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at the Macdonald Linden Hall for 2 weeks as part of a residential course from 2-13 June 2014, and I'd like to say how brilliant it was. Whilst the room, spa, grounds and reception areas are all lovely, the really special thing that made it such a great stay was the staff at the hotel. They couldn't have done enough to help us. Roxanna, James and her team were always friendly, smiling and happy to accomodate any request....even when we asked to eat our evening meal out on the lawn! Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to Roxanna, James and all the staff at Linden Hall for a brilliant 2 weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

After reading the previous reviews, I was a little concerned about what Linden Hall would be like.... Well don't believe everything you read, we had a great time! The hotel is a lovely old building with some fabulous grounds - we especially enjoyed the '10 minute walk.'

Room - Having paid £80 per night with a Secret Escapes deal that included breakfast (normally £136 rack rate), I expected to have the most basic of rooms - instead I'm pretty sure we had a newer room, which was just across from the spa. We didn't have a view but the room was super quiet, clean and just what we needed. Our tea,coffee and biscuits etc were not replenished during our stay but I guess we could have asked for more! There was also a function on the last night our stay and even though we were directly opposite, it was kept very quiet unlike some hotels where an event can take over.

Spa - There is a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and although the spa is a little tired looking, this did not detract from us having a relaxing time. It certainly wasn't as bad as some previous reviews have made out - the sauna is also brand new, perhaps the rest is undergoing renovation soon?

Food - We ate at the Dobson restaurant on the first night and I cannot fault the food. It was exceptional. I would have liked a bit more lamb with my main course, however, the taste and service we had was outstanding. The only issue was with the bill - the hotel had called us the night before our arrival to ask if we wanted to have dinner at a promotional rate of £25 for 3 courses (normally £36) - staff were unaware of this and got very confused when we asked for our bill to be changed. This took quite a while but was eventually sorted.

Bar- well the prices were high, even for a hotel. £9.15 for a baileys hot chocolate really??!

Breakfast, although delicious, seemed to take a long time each morning. There is a continental buffet but hot food, you have to order. When you sit down, they take your tea/coffee and toast order and say that they will come back in 5 minutes to take your hot food order - this system does not seem to work as some mornings we were waiting 15 minutes or more. They appear to be very understaffed at breakfast time - surely having a hot food buffet would save time! Despite this, it was the best black pudding I've ever had!

For my first time I'm Northumberland, this was definetley the right choice of hotel and was the perfect location for doing the things we wanted. Thankyou Linden Hall for a lovely stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank butterflybarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely grounds, character buildings and an on-site pub that serve really good food are the undoubted highlights. However, a hotel in this neck of the woods that has the gall to charge £110 for a nights stay without breakfast is on a suicide mission in terms of repeat clientele. Couple this with a bedroom that would bruise the cats nose as you try to swing it, terminal water hammer in the archaic plumbing, uncomfortably hot room, creaking floorboards and inconsiderate people who run the water at 5.20 in the morning and you will get the impression that this is one business traveller who will not be returning. I may have said that before but I thought I would give them another try. Unfortunately, two strikes and I'm out!

Oh...and another point...if it takes your receptionist 10 minutes to check out one person...thank goodness you were not too busy?

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank BarrynEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West York.UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

After a disastrous visit at New Year we returned to find 100% improvement! Friendly staff, charming hotel and grounds and nice meal in the pub! The Spa was clean and very relaxing! However don't expect good WiFi coverage, the area is remote but thats why its lovely

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelle2k34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Don't get me wrong ... Linden Hall is a beautiful hotel set in very charming grounds. If you're considering this for a wedding setting then I don't think you'll go too far wrong. The staff were very pleasant with helpful concierge. The general first appearance is very good, however when you look a little bit closer you start to see the early signs of a hotel becoming tired. There's nothing I hate more than reclining in the jacuzzi and looking up to see rust around the vents, or standing in the lift and seeing grubby paper. We were in room 122 - I forget if this was an executive or a feature room, either way it wasn't Linden's basic accommodation. I have to say, IMO, the space lacked imagination - it was large enough for sure but was short on character - felt more like a domestic guest room if you know what I mean. The bathroom was OK but suffered from those rather sloppy estates repairs that annoy me. Combine this with the window view of the disabled car parking area and an uncomfortable couple of nights sleep and I left feeling slightly underwhelmed, which was disappointing really given the great setting and not insignificant cost! As always the breakfast was first rate. Final story, on our way to breakfast one of the managers chose to let rip at a couple of staff members who had stacked the previous day (which we saw them do) some wooden tables under the stairs (our main fire escape route). He was aware of us walking along the corridor but this didn't seem to slow him down (he seemed to be in full flow) - As we passed by his words to his cowering staff were "This is the biggest no-no I've seen since I've been here" - I agree it wasn't good that flammable and unsightly tables were shoved in full view under the stairs but I would add to the list of no-no's in a hotel that of chewing-up staff in front of customers - not the time or the place.

In summary: (+) great setting and grounds, beautiful house, friendly staff (to guests!), good
food
(-) Expensive, starting to look a little worn around the edges, beds not the best for
me

Room Tip: Not a great view from room 122
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a very relaxing stay here for a couple of nights. The hotel is in a lovely old building in beautiful grounds. Didn't play golf but the course looked lovely, similarly the pool. The room wasn't the biggest, however it was comfortable and had everything we needed. Very noisy floorboards but I guess that's due to the age of the building. The staff were very friendly and welcoming which was nice.
We had lunch and dinner in the Linden Tree pub which was nice and informal. Breakfast in the hotel was very good, buffet for cereals, breads etc while the hot breakfast was freshly cooked.
There is a lot to do in this area and this was a great base for a lot of nearby attractions.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
13.2 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Property: Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing