We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,127)
Filter reviews
2,127 results
Traveller rating
748
605
468
198
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
605
468
198
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dobson restaurant the pub evening meal lovely hotel main restaurant lovely grounds spa facilities cocktail bar wedding party spa break executive room cream tea wedding reception black pudding one night stay following morning both nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,384 - 1,389 of 2,127 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a friends wedding. On the second night out car which was parked in the car park was vandalised causing a significant amount of damage. Please note the car park at this hotel does not have CCTV. We will not be staying here again. Deeply disappointed at the standard of service - got the feeling they were under staffed. For a £175 a night hotel I would strongly suggest to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Recently returned from a 4 night break which was to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were disappointed with the size of the room and it was very hot. The first night we were woken at 5am in the morning by a rattling noise, it was intermitant and despite a search of the room could not locate where the noise was coming from. We eventually found the source of the noise it was a light fitting above the bath that was loose. We had to have the window open to try and keep the room cool and when the wind blew the light fitting rattled. Despite reporting the faulty light fitting on two occasions this did not get resolved while we were there. On one of the days that we went out we could not get into our room the key card would not work, fortunately a member of staff was on hand to let us into our room, we then had to go back down to reception to get the cards to work. The breakfasts were very nice and the staff were friendly. We only ate in the restaurant on my husbands birthday which was very nice, the rest of the time we ate in the on site pub. Unfortunately we were also woken on one of the other nights because of someone in the room above being noisy. We did enjoy our stay but we would not return because of the amount of restrictions there were placed as regards to reservations on everything, we like to be able to be spontaneous when we are on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor so that you do not get noise above.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a relaxing break away in the Northumberland countryside. The hotel is very grand and the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and was made all the more enjoyable by the lovely view out of the window the from our table. The spa area was dated and could do with being renovated but it was nice to relax in the jacuzzi all the same. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NicolaT2986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were treated like royalty from start to finish. We arrived early, but we could check-in, our cases were taken away to be taken up to the room when it was ready. So we had a drink in the bar/lounge, after a very short time we were told our room was ready. Everything in the room was perfect, clean tidy and spacious. After getting ready we went down for our evening meal, starting in the bar for a pre-dinner drink, we were given the menu to choose, so many choices it took time to be ready. Our order was taken, and after a short time with nuts and olives to nibble we were called into the restaurant. Everything we had chosen was well cooked and presented and tasted wonderful. We felt we had plenty of time between courses but no long waits.We both had good nights sleeps in the comfortable bed and the next morning breakfast was great with plenty of choice. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful,always asking if we needed anything ,could they help. We came away feeling relaxed and pampered.
Don't do what I did and forgot the swimming costumes as the pool area looked very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel definitely has some staff quality issues, as others have mentioned the staff are conspicuous with their absence!
In addition the breakfast service was poor and we had to wait around 10 mins to be seated even though not busy.
We did not get the room we had booked through central reservations and the hotel inferred this overbooking was common, so do check with hotel direct !
We were downgraded to a standard room but not told !
This hotel just doesn't warrant the prices and quality it projects.
I wouldn't recommend it unless you don't mind paying £4.50 for a coffee and having to wait 10 mins for it
Also the free wifi was a pain to set up with an iPad

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking golf course are good
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jcpg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews