We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic and peaceful setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse looking over the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse looking over the lake
The wonderful large wood  burning stove will warm you up on those cooler evenings The cosy open plan space has a wonderful wood burning stove to keep you warm on  cooler evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Boathouse looking over the lake
The wonderful large wood  burning stove will warm you up on those cooler evenings
The cosy open plan space has a wonderful wood burning stove to keep you warm on  cooler evenings
The whole of the building facing the water maximises your view
A view from the cottage across the lake
Nighttime at the Lake
Another view across the lake
Swans and their family
Get up close and personal with the swans
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Allan M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An idyllic and peaceful setting”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Situated in a gated private wood, the Boathouse is the perfect setting if you want to get away and spend sometime in a county setting.
During our stay we visited Morpeth, Alnwick, Newcastle with day trips to Glasgow (via Hadrian's wall) and Kelso.
The Boathouse is spotlessly clean and a comfortable retreat to watch the local wildlife and occasional fishermen in their boats.
Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
We’re delighted you had such a great holiday and would love to welcome you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottwats...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This place is just magical. We have booked to go again next year while we were there. Private location and amazing views over the private lake. Spotlessly clean and cosy. About 20 mins from Morpeth which is a lovely town and about 30 mins to Druridge Bay for fantastic beach if you have dogs. Were only there 3 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer. Only negative was a slightly uncomfortable bed in master bedroom but as I have a bad back, I know I'm picky. Wonderful welcome pack too. Fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2017
I’m so delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you’re returning next year for a longer stay. We look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review - we're delighted you enjoyed it so much and we would love to welcome you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aileen L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a break”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful setting,very tranquil and peaceful. The Boathouse is beautifully appointed and equipped, excellent venue for two couples. The location was good, lots to see within reasonably travelling distance, Alnwick gardens and castle, Cragside, Lindisfarne (after checking the tide times!) and Bamburgh Castle to name but a few. Thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time - we'd love to welcome you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside71...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, pet-friendly, beautiful house, wildlife, fishing, peace and tranquillity, ever changing view”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I would recommend the boathouse to all who wish to step out of the business of life. Perfect for all who enjoy watching the wildlife, swans, geese, moorhens, bats an ever changing view in a terrific location near Morpeth, Alnwick, lots of National Trust properties to visit close by and fly fishing on the lake. Sarah is very welcoming, made us feel at home, the house was filled with gifts to welcome us, the property home from home, very comfortable with everything you could wish for. Enjoy, we will be returning.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
I'm so delighted you enjoyed your break and that it lived up to your expectations. We'd love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you - we are so pleased you enjoyed The Boathouse and we would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing