We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pomp and pretentiousness”

Northumberland Arms
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Morpeth
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A fully re-furbished 1820's Coaching Inn, originally built by the 3rd Duke of Northumberland. Beautiful bar, lounge and restaurant, immaculately decorated and next to the River Coquet. Six luxury en-suite rooms, accredited 4 Star Gold by Visit Britain/Quality in Tourism. A la Carte Restaurant Open 7 days a week Breakfast 8.30Am to 10.30Am for residents and by request Brunch 10am until 12 noon Lunch Menu: 12 noon to 3pm Light Grazing Menu: 3-6pm Restaurant Open for Dinner: 6pm to 9pm and 9.30pm Friday/Saturday Sunday Lunch: 12 noon to 8pm For Reservations please call
teeside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pomp and pretentiousness”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

As this pub is related to Running Fox we thought we couldn't go wrong dining there. How wrong, on the plus side has been done out nicely, shabby chic and all that sort of thing, but a little pretentious for small village in Northumberland. Reasonably busy when we got there, lots of tables reserved, restaurant fully booked but managed to find nice table in bar area. Welcome not particularly friendly, not clear if we had to order food at bar or table service, the latter is what we should have done, as the barman come waiter let us know by the way he took our order in a curt rude manner, the guy was monosybillic and just stared at us hard. I ordered "posh fish pie" that came with parmentier potatoes, and house salad. The potatoes tasted as though they had been laying around a while and reheated several times, the pie had a few stringy bits of lattice pastry covering some salmon chunks in a creamy sauce, couldn't taste the cider that was supposed to be in it, eventually found 3miniscule baby prawns, no other ingredients apart from onions. I have ordered this type of fish pie in several different restaurants and different countries, It was a poor imitation. When the surly barman took my plate he asked the usual was that
Ok, ? Iwhen I said ,"no actually it was disappointing" he just took my plate saying in his deadpan manner he was sorry about that and left. Needless to say we just wanted to pay the bill and
leave. My advice to owner of this establishment, some of your staff need customer service training, you need to have clarification how to order food in the bar area, upgrade your fish pie, the vegetable dishes not inspiring , same dull presentation, potatoes overcooked, portion size questionable given prices, and in comparison to Running Fox size portions. Stop being so prentitious, it's not required I was really looking forward to my visit , won't be back in a hurry and wouldl
not recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeesidePeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am sorry your experience at The Northumberland Arms was less than perfect. To this end, would you please be kind enough to either call me and/or e-mail me with your personal details, so I can fully investigate this matter and update you on my findings.

Kind regards



Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    177
    100
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a boon to find this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely food. Well-conceived dishes, nicely presented. And a menu with thought given to special dietary requirements.What a find! Keep up the good work! Will come back here as often as we can.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatharineN165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience at The Northumberland Arms and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards



Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The bite was better than the bark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Felton is a little off the beaten track, but a lovely quiet little place to visit for a night out at the Northumberland Arms. The pubs reputation makes it very popular so booking ahead is a good idea. It was very busy when we visited on a Wednesday evening which suggests people are prepared to travel for its food. Our meals were very enjoyable. Imaginative and of very good quality. The pub is nicely 'done out' and the staff were very friendly. The atmosphere did feel slightly pretentious rather than being particularly warm. Unfortunately i'm not a dog lover and i'm not a fan of people bringing them into pubs particularly when people are eating. At the Northumberland Arms there were plenty dogs in, being both seen and heard which was a bit annoying. If you manage to get a table in the restaurant you may well not notice them but as we were given a table in the bar it took the edge off the night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Northumberland Arms. As noted, dogs are not allowed in the restaurant area, so hopefully if you return, please book a table in there so you will not be affected by our four legged friends.

Kindest regards



Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a fantastic lunch - the open steak sandwich with onions and cherry tomatoes in a balsamic sauce was delicious. The deserts were beautifully presented and tasted as good as they looked - best chocolate brownie ever and superb sticky toffee pudding. Very good service and reasonable prices. A good upmarket pub experience in a quaint village setting. Had a nice walk by the river afterwards to burn off a few calories. We will be returning !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank castlesintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit to The Northumberland Arms. Hope to see you again soon. PS if you are interested, we have some great walks listed over at The Running Fox Café for your next visit!

Kind regards



Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent recommendation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visiting this part of the country would recomend this pub food was truly excellent. Just need to get a little more choice for rose wines. Only had one. Having said that the food was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McGlashon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review; hope to have more Rose wines on the wine list for your next visit!!

Kind regards



Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northumberland Arms also viewed

Felton, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Chatton, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing