We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quiet drink (and the food looked super)”

Northumberland Arms
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Morpeth
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A fully re-furbished 1820's Coaching Inn, originally built by the 3rd Duke of Northumberland. Beautiful bar, lounge and restaurant, immaculately decorated and next to the River Coquet. Six luxury en-suite rooms, accredited 4 Star Gold by Visit Britain/Quality in Tourism. A la Carte Restaurant Open 7 days a week Breakfast 8.30Am to 10.30Am for residents and by request Brunch 10am until 12 noon Lunch Menu: 12 noon to 3pm Light Grazing Menu: 3-6pm Restaurant Open for Dinner: 6pm to 9pm and 9.30pm Friday/Saturday Sunday Lunch: 12 noon to 8pm For Reservations please call
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quiet drink (and the food looked super)”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We only called in for a drink whilst we waited for a table at the nearby Running Fox cafe. Did not relise this place served such appetising looking food otherwise we would have made for there. A very good atmosphere. The staff were very welcoming and we will return to sample the food soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hope you had a great meal at The Running Fox Café, but please give us a try next time!!

Kind regards



Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    183
    100
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service - disappointing visit”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Booked after reading so many good reviews. Obviously busy, but that isn't always a bad thing. Seated, orders taken, drinks and starters delivered all in good time. Mains arrived and from our party of four two plates had obviously been waiting for the others to be ready and had started to curl. Then the wait began... After finishing eating took half an hour then two of the dirty plates where removed then another half hour before the other two where cleared. Asked lady in charge if staffing issues but advised just busy that day. Ordered desserts which again took an age to come, with one taking so long the other three had been finished. Decided against coffee! Overall the food was nice but the service was a problem. Happy to have a leisurely meal, we were there over three hours, but it was the dirty plates and half cleared table that was the real bug bear. Fed back our comments face to face but looking at the reviews service seems to be hit and miss. Will leave it some time before trying again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumbriabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It would appear that our service was lacking on your visit and we are looking into this.
If you would like to give me a call to discuss as we are continuously looking to improve and would welcome your input.

Kind Regards
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 2 pm today and we sat down to be served at 3 15. Food arrived at 20 to 4. There were 8 of us and while the lamb eaters were happy with their lamb. My turkey was bland and the gravy tasteless. The cheese board was stingy sized and it was served with margarine that tasted of block stork cooking marg to add to this it was served cold not at room temperature .oh they were sorry for our long wait. But not sorry enough to give us a complimentary drink !! Quite disgusting really when we waited an hour and a half to order . They clearly were over booked bad management skills. Please don't try to squeeze dinners in as waiting an hour and a half to be seated is not acceptable. I for one will not be back

Helpful?
2 Thank Neenybeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for taking time to let us know about your experience on Sunday.
It's disappointing for us to hear that you were not satisfied with the service you received.
The team are aware of your comments and as always we will endeavour to improve.
I would appreciate If you would like to call me to discuss, as it would be great if you would come back and give The Northumberland Arms another try.

Kind Regards
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Had heard about this place from friends although knew of its existence for ages.
My wife and I managed to get in without a booking( very lucky I understand) for Sunday evening dinner. We had been given glowing recommendations and I must say we were not disappointed. I had the rare sirloin beef and my wife the turkey crown both with accompanying vegetables. Cooked to perfection and the veg was steamed just so. Full of flavour. I had the sticky toffee pudding to follow and it was simply sublime. Gorgeous fluffy sponge with a sauce that tasted like liquid Devon toffee. Fantastic.
We will both be back to sample their wares again. The service was superb too. 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Dancin_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Amazing review and much appreciated. Hope you'll be back again soon.

Kind regards



Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Is it a 4 really....”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing place from the outside, and a well decorated place throughout on the inside. We have passed this place many times, and finally took the plunge to pop in and have a meal, well we managed to get a table after someone cancelled last minute....thanks whoever you are. Excellent service by the girls, fresh bread brought to the table with a bottle of water, are we being charged for this without asking???
Anyway trawling through the menu, I went for the scallop in breadcrumbs with bacon and pea purée starter, followed by the massive cod and chips, the wife chose the salmon with lemon and dill sauce.
Food arrived after about 10 mins wait, which wasn't bad at all. Unfortunately the scallops tasted more like fish fingers, overpowered by the breadcrumbs, bacon and pea purée was excellent. So a little disappointed to say the least. Main course arrived with chips you could die for, amazing tasted like oven cooked or double fried, however the fish was tasteless, now this is what most of the cod is like at the moment, whether it's because it's been frozen and not fresh, who knows. However my wife's meal was excellent, well cooked salmon and a beautiful sauce to go with it. This is my review based on the night, other food going out onto other tables were looking amazing, chops, duck, meat platters. I am sure the rest would be amazing, sorry my review was negative. I will go back again at some point.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M2bfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris B, Owner at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your positive comments with constructive feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northumberland Arms also viewed

Felton, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Chatton, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing