We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 30 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Paul and Zoe at Newminster Cottage could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We arrived late on a Friday night but there were happy to wait up and show us round when we arrived. Breakfast the following morning was lovely. The rooms were bright and clean, and the B&B itself is situated within easy walking distance to the town. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in Morpeth.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
77
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed overnight at Newminster cottage and can highly recommend staying here. Really friendly welcome and comfortable, modern bedrooms. Really good location for the town centre, only a short walk away but still a quiet room in day and evening. Also a really good base for exploring Northumberland. Breakfast was really nice and given good advice about local places to go and visit. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A lovely little place, well situated and with a great host. As mentioned elsewhere, take care to park immediately by the B&B, as you can't park down the little alleyway and you can't turn around either. The bed was lovely. Town centre was just a short walk away, but we settled on food at the Chinese next door and we were wonderfully looked after. Great advice too for our onward journey. If ever we make it up to this area again, we'll be sure to look up this B&B

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Both rooms I stayed in were nicely furnished. Made to feel at home instantly. Lovely conversation over a perfectly cooked breakfast with plenty of advice about local sights and places to visit, particularly places for evening meals. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room was pleasantly furnished & very clean. Tried to open windows late at night as the room was stuffy but they were locked.
Bed was reasonably comfortable. . Unfortunately we thought the breakfast was quite poor quality . Parking was a slight issue as the house is situated on a bend in what is quite a narrow road & there is no off-street parking. B & B is in good location for walking into the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallulah52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newminster, Owner at Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank for your review and feedback. We are sorry to hear your stay was not to your satisfaction.
All our guest room windows are fully operationally in line with fire regulations. They are fitted with security latches and we will look to provide simple instructions within rooms for future guests although we are available at any times for guest queries. We acknowledge that parking is not always perfect however we do offer limited space for off-street parking to the side of our property in a private lane. This space cannot be guaranteed for anyone guest and is filled on a first come basis each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have stayed at the B&B twice now and been in two different rooms both of which have been to a very good provision and standard. I have found the location quite, have always slept well and been comfortable.On my second visit I had to catch an early flight back home and Paul put himself out to get up at the crack of dawn to cook us an excellent breakfast before we set off to the airport, which was much appreciated. The B&B is well situated, with Morpeth town only a few minutes walking distance away - where I managed to find a nice resturant & pub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here with my 2 & 3 year old over the May Bank Holiday. With 2 young children I thought the 3 night stay was going to be a challenge but Paul and his family made us feel very welcome. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean and very well decorated. Both the full English and continental breakfasts were very filling and Paul thoughtfully bought children's yoghurts in advance. Great location for exploring the lovely shops in Morpeth and walking along the river to the swings and rowing boats. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
7.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.2 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#6 of 30 in Morpeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#8 of 30 in Morpeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morpeth Court Luxury Serviced Apartments
9.3 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#2 of 30 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Stanners, Morpeth NE61 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Zoe Gillie welcome you to Newminster Cottage, where we offer you homely and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation. Whether on business or on holiday, you will feel at home and most welcome. Newminster Cottage is a 19th-century stone built cottage in a peaceful riverside setting, only 300 yards from the centre, shops, pubs and restaurants of the pleasant market town of Morpeth, Northumberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newminster Cottage Bed And Breakfast Morpeth, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing