We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Northumberland Country Zoo
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are regular visitors to Morpeth and have been to Eshott Heugh several times. It has never once disappointed us, in fact, it just gets better and better, with more lovely well cared for animals on each visit that would likely have been destroyed if Brian hadn't taken them under his wing. The park is incredibly spacious with lots of land for the animals to happily roam around. We were only down in Northumberland for 5 days over Easter, but my daughter and I spent 3 of those days at Eshott Heugh. Think that speaks volumes. I have no idea how many bags of popcorn we bought whilst there, the animals love them and the pleasure of feeding them all is amazing and its a healthy alternative feed and an interesting quirky change to the standard pellets at other places. Lynn, who works there, is their national treasure. She is a fountain of knowledge on all the animals there and her love for them beams through. She will very happily tell you stories on each one . Oh, one of the new recruits, Buster , the racoon, is sooo adorable. His big eyes and adorable wee face would melt the hardest heart. But, we have no favourites, all the livestock are clean, happy, healthy and, if you spend enough time there, will see that they all have their own individual personalities. We easily stayed there on each visit until closing time. The cafeteria area is clean and very good value. Delish calorie laden tea cakes and the baked potatoes are tasty and very filling. We will continue to visit on our trips to Morpeth. Lynn, Brian and Linda and all the wonderful volunteers there, hats off to you, you go out of your way to ensure your animals and birds are given the best of care.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank leoxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    46
    17
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland,England
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely venue,very cheap”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Would recommend a visit to the animal park especially if you have young children.
You wouldn't be able to spend all day here as there just isn't enough to do but it is excellent value for money.
Lovely walk round and animals all looked great,liked the play park and it was big enough for us.
Food was basic but very tasty.
The fees were very cheap.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lolapops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited today with our 9 year old, thought the entrance fee good value, plenty to see and very nicely laid out amongst its surroundings, the riverside walk was nice and gave a nice walk around the animal enclosures. Theresa a nice children's play area (younger children) with plenty of seating and a cafe, which we didn't use, other than ice creams, so can't comment on that.
Overall we enjoyed it, I would say its 2 to 3 hours of entertainment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant family day out - Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited with 2 boys age 4 and 2 thoroughly enjoyed the visit. It's excellent value for money, especially as children aged 2 and under are free. The animals are all well cared for and seem very happy. The children enjoyed feeding the animals and watching the Meerkats. The only small negative was that we hoped there would be a petting area with Rabbits/Guinea Pigs etc but there wasn't. There is a small cafe which serves nice sandwiches/jacket potatoes all priced quite reasonably. The children's play area is very small and if it had been a busy day it would have been a nightmare with 1 slide and 2 swings. We spent 2 hours here and that was enough time to do everything. Overall worth a visit :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alnwick
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful suprise”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

i was at Eshott Huegh Animal Park again last week for the first time in 5 months and the changes are unbelievable and wonderful, i loved meeting Red the new bull calf and Milly the parrot was a delight as was Stilton the baby pygmy goat new enclosures are being built which surely means more animals although what they may be is being kept a tight lipped secret lol. Brian and Linda Bradley ( the owners) are as charming and friendly as ever as are all the staff and cant do enough to make a visit to their animal park ( of which they are rightly very proud ) a special occasion, baby lambs and a new baby Llama are due to be born very soon and new childrens play houses have been placed outside the Tearooms which the children i saw playing in them were delighted with. I cannot recommend this place highly enough a true treasure in our wonderful Northumberland countryside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northumberland Country Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Northumberland Country Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing