We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find...”
Review of Birchwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birchwood House
Ranked #2 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked a one night stay on the morning we required accommodation. Photo on website looked ok, but we were stunned by our overnight stay there. Room was spacious, stylish, designed with all the facilities you look for in a stay away. Bathroom was roomy, contemporary and spotlessly clean. Breakfast had so much choice, hot dishes cooked to order and lovely fresh fruit salad, Greek yoghurt, nice breads, fresh coffee..... get the idea? Host Gayle is a lovely lady, so helpful that she even offered to drive us to the local pub a mile away if we wanted to have a drink. Don't be put off by the approach which is shared by a their contracting business, this place is more comfortable than many a costlier hotel.

Room Tip: Next to A1 but noise is not a problem. Also, address is Felton but not actually in Felton village, i...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nidderdalenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Birchwood House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 116 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here a few times and could not wish for better. Gaye and Laul are great people and feel like friends as soon as you walk in the door. We feel like we are at home but with nothing to do except enjoy being taken care of and being spoilt ! They even let you use their fridge and microwave in the dining room if you want to. It amazes me how Gaye keeps going ! Spotless and wow what a breakfast feast. Thanks again to you both.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_Paul009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and son(aged 3) stayed here for 2nights for a family christening nearby.From the moment we arrived Gaye and Laul made us feel so welcome offering us tea coffee and cake! Ive stayed at several B&Bs over the years and can honestly say i was not expecting the rooms to be of such a high standard(ive stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world and some 4star hotels dont have the finess like theirs do) My son especially liked the lounge room with pool table! The breakfasts were top class(only wish we couldve of ate more because the selection was awesome! Id most definitely recommend this place and we would love to return in the future.Thanks guys for a wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lennah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here as part of my birthday celebration and would like to say a big thank you for an excellent night's accommodation. Your home is fantastic, the rooms well laid out with a great deal of thought given and very comfortable. The hospitality shown to us, especially providing the taxi run was second to none. I apologise that we could not do enough justice to the fabulous breakfast laid out for us, I personally would have loved to try some of the cheese together with a slice of the tea loaf, toasted. Nothing was too much. Thank you once again and hope to stay there again soon. Christine

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine190793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in July as we were attending a dinner at Alnwick Castle. On arrival we were greeted by Gay the landlady and shown to our room. The guesthouse has just undergone a full refit and rebuild. The communal areas and bedrooms are well decorated and so clean. Free wifi was available. What made it special for us was the owner friendliness and nothing was too much trouble.

Although the guesthouse is located just off the A1 there is no road noise at all very peaceful.

We had breakfast and I can honestly say that it was lovely and lots of it. We were even given a newspaper.

What makes this place so great are the owners they cater for everything and more. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emers1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

One of the best and cleanest B&B's we've stayed at. Mrs. Blewitt was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.Great breakfast and an excellent dinner at a hotel just down the road made for a perfect stay.Be certainly returning.

Tony and Carol Hindle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
14.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#3 of 29 in Morpeth
191 reviews
9.3 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood House

Address: Kitswell Dene | Felton, Morpeth NE65 9NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: £68 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood House is a working family home with guest accomodation providing Bed & Breakfast in a rural setting but just off the A1 northbound with easy access to the sights of Northumberland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood House Morpeth, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing