We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend visit.”
Review of Middle Stobswood

Middle Stobswood
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morpeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middle Stobswood
Ranked #17 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My partner and I used this B&B at the weekend, and we were both very pleased with it. The first thing to note was that the room was immaculately clean - even my mother would have been hard pressed to find fault! The bed was very comfortable, and I had a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was both delicious and flexible (7 < x < 9)...

The bathroom on our room was actually a very large full on wetroom, perhaps making this place particularly attractive for disabled guests...

Although the B&B is actually part of a working farm, I have to say we never heard anything from the farm itself - despite the chickens and cockrel that were wondering around outside. We only saw one of the dogs (a chocalate lab) who I would describe as very friendly, and wouldn't concern me around kids... Indeed, he was so friendly, always bringing his ball to me etc, that I christened him the "Guest Relations Officer"!

The couple who run the place, David and Gillian, were a delight - very helpful and accomodating. The next time we stay in the area, we're not going to bother searching around other B&Bs - we'll just stay here.

Room Tip: Just let David / Gillian know if you have any special needs - they'll sort you out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Mine to be precise. Weather was set fair so I thought, where better to have an overnighter than Northumberland? Found this place via Visit Northumberland and concur with everything said previously. Had a very comfortable night's sleep, even though it was a windy night. Had feasted well at the Northumberland Arms, Felton ( Highly recommended). Retired early, but despite the semi-gale blowing outside, I slept very well. Room 2 is exceptionally clean, power shower is excellent, toiletries were as expected. Hospitality tray was A1. We were greeted with a pot of tea and dreamy chocolate cake, yum, much needed after a hairy journey up the A1 in high winds.
Amazingly, this place was adjacent to a massive opencast mine until recently - you would never believe it. Very very quiet. Never heard the cock crow. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 2 is excellent, but having had a nosy, none of the other rooms pale by comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

What a lovely place, warm , clean and so very welcoming. Hosts made us feel very much at home and as it was over new year - we were extra grateful! The room we had was very comfy and the breakfast was fresh and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Having previously experienced noisy Saturday night stopovers in Newcastle I wanted a comfortable overnight stop and a good sleep leaving me a 30 minutes drive in the morning to Gateshead. Middle Stopton Bed and Breakfast provided all of this and more. Exactly three miles from the A1 Middle Stopton is a small holding with free running chickens. I was welcomed by Gillian who made me a pot of tea with some homemade apple sponge immediately upon my arrival. Room was very clean, extremely comfortable king size bed, fresh towels, lots of pillow choices, flat screen tv, free wi fi, a well stocked hospitality tray and a fabulous power shower in an ensuite. I dont normally sleep well in strange beds but had a very good comfortable sleep. There is not a lot of space in the room but there is a nice guest sitting room on the ground floor. Breakfast was first class, although my sausage was too well done but probably my own fault as I had stayed too long in the super power shower.
I certainly will return, with my wife next time (she was sick and missed this visit) to hopefully explore more of this area and to enjoy this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: There is one room on the ground floor catering for those that may have trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent bed and breakfast. A relaxed, quiet location, great breakfast, attentive hosts and lovely animals especially the dog. We used the four rooms as we were staying in the area for a family wedding, we therefore had the place to ourselves. The lounge is well furnished, good facilities, no complaints at all. Perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I had a lovely few nights here. It was a modern and well presented B & B with a comfy room and great shower. Breakfast was lovely. Hosts were friendly - with a nice cup of tea and lovely lemon cake on arrival. It is 15 mins from both Alnwick and Morpeth so a handy location for sightseeing. Nice Thai restaurant in Morpeth - Nadon Thai. There Is a fridge available too which is handy if want to chill something, as well as fresh milk for tea and coffee.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had a nice view out over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed for one night on our way north. I would highly recommended this B&B. When you drive in you think you have made a mistake but the room (Ours was first on the left as you come into the house) was spacious, spotlessly clean and we couldn't have asked for any more. David and Gillian were friendly hosts and the breakfast was to die for. We are townies and it was really nice to see the horses and chickens and hear the cock crow in the morning (not forgetting the friendly chocolate labrador that greeted us on our arrival). We will definitely try and and get back here and our way down as it was value for money

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morpeth hotels
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
4.1 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
203 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Morpeth Inn
The Morpeth Inn
#5 of 29 in Morpeth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#2 of 2 in Longhorsley
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Stobswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Stobswood

Address: Middle Stobswood Middle Stobswood Farm | -, Morpeth NE61 3AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable farmhouse B&B set back from a minor road, surrounded by grassland.Good quality accommodation in the heart of rural Northumberland only 3 miles from A1. Nearby market town of Morpeth and medieval Alnwick, easy reach of fantastic Heritage coastline of Northumberland. All rooms ensuite, comfortably equipped with king size beds, flat screen TV, hospitality tray. Good breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients where possible. A warm welcome awaits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Middle Stobswood Morpeth, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing