We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Old Bakehouse

The Old Bakehouse
Ranked #12 of 102 Restaurants in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon this little place on a recent visit to Morpeth; saw a sign on the Main Street and followed it up a short alley. Had a very nice bowl of soup and a desert of ginger sponge and custard, very nice, but extremely hot, temperature wise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlet062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    43
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool
1 review
“Definitely recommend ”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Brilliant staff.. Very friendly and accommodating... the BEST breakfast I have ever had. excellent value for money.. 10/10!

Helpful?
Thank charlie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“splendid grub”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is the second time my husband and I have been to this tea room in morpeth and it has not disappoint. Excellent service friendly staff and the food is lovely my husband had good old fashioned mince and dumpling myself had salmon wellington salmon in a pastry case with vegatables-mashed potato mashed swede carrot and cabbage piping hot then for desert had bread and butter pudding with custard piping hot too we shared this cause full up- I would recommend this establishment to friends and family. Reasonaby priced as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've had many meals here & have never been disappointed. Yes, its mostly plain, traditional food but well cooked, hot & usually a good choice. I'm very surprised at the comment about overcooked veg., as I've always found the opposite, ie cooked just right, a good selection & they'll give you more if you need! Must have been an off day indeed! Its my first choice when I'm inviting anyone out for a daytime meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Mam and I popped into this most quaint little cafe in the centre of Morpeth for breakfast before our feeding of the local ducks. This place is bang in the centre of Morpeth, but as it's located down a little lane you feel wonderfully isolated from the traffic. It's a charming if small establishment which was almost full at 11:00 on New Year's Eve. We waited to be seated and the very friendly waitress asked mam and I to take a seat on a table set for four. This was a nice touch as it showed that they put the customer first. We ordered a bacon and mushroom sandwich (for mam) and a full English for me. Mam likes her bacon very well done and the waitress said this would not be a problem. My breakfast consisted of 2 of the following: eggs (proper runny yolk) bacon, sausage (good quality Northumberland pork) and toast. Plus beans, canned tomato, fried mushrooms a slice of black pud and a fried slice. Coffee or tea is included in the price. The breakfast was excellent and each component part was done perfectly. Coffee (I ordered a second cup) was filter and also good. Mam said her bacon roll was excellent and the bacon was 'perfect'. Mam's pot of tea was generous and delicious. Both meals were a good size too. The bill came to a very reasonable £10 and the waitress, who was attentive, friendly and pleasant got a decent tip as we were very pleased. The location of this cafe is great, with plenty of outside room for when the weather is nice and I highly recommend this establishment. I also noted they do lunch dishes like lasagne and roast lunches along with pies and hot and cold rolls and panini. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bekoubetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bakehouse also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to The Old Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing