We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make & bake!”
Review of The Old Bakehouse

The Old Bakehouse
Ranked #12 of 102 Restaurants in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Make & bake!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Visited with my wife and two grandchildren for lunch - a real mix of tastes!
I had the cottage pie, my wife the lasagne, the grandchildren had soup & sandwiches. Result? 0Clean plates!
Good home cooking, tasty soup and sandwiches and very reasonable prices. Including teas and children's drinks
the whole experience was just £25.
The staff are welcoming and efficient and although quite busy we were served quickly. Being a wet day we couldn't sit outside but on warmer days this is an option.
For no-nonsense food, well cooked and a reasonable prices, this is the place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraser L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    43
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just like Mum used to make”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Worth a visit, even if it's just to soak up the traditional atmosphere. Very friendly staff and a steak&kidney pie to kill for. I must admit I think it was better than my Mums' which takes some beating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is one of our favourite coffee shops in the North East. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the coffee is great and the food is 'just like mother used to make'. You can't go wrong if you want a snack, but I can thoroughly recommend one of the roast dinners, they are fantastic. Great tasting, more than enough, a really hearty meal.
We will be going back again and again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goblinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon this little place on a recent visit to Morpeth; saw a sign on the Main Street and followed it up a short alley. Had a very nice bowl of soup and a desert of ginger sponge and custard, very nice, but extremely hot, temperature wise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlet062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
1 review
“Definitely recommend ”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Brilliant staff.. Very friendly and accommodating... the BEST breakfast I have ever had. excellent value for money.. 10/10!

Helpful?
Thank charlie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bakehouse also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to The Old Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing