We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts, solitude, and a beautiful coastline.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Hepple Farmhouse

East Hepple Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morpeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
East Hepple Farmhouse
Ranked #22 of 32 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, solitude, and a beautiful coastline.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Location.
East Hepple is situated in the tiny village of Hepple and about six miles from the town of Rothbury. Both Alnwick and Morpeth are within thirty minutes drive; likewise the coastal resort of Alnmouth.
The cottage has panoramic views over the Coquet river and valley, and offers complete peace and relaxation.
Both Alnmouth and the more northerly Bamburgh offer splendid beaches- the former with a view to Lindisfarne and Holy Island. The coastline is largely wild, unspoilt, and stunning. This was my first visit to the area, and I must say it knocks spots off the north west Lancashire coast- close to where I spent my childhood. A must visit if you've never been there!
One slight downside is that the B roads can be quite hilly, particularly poorly maintained, and full of potholes. Given the hot temperatures this July, driving any distance can become a bit tedious.

The Accommodation.
Apart from an en suite bedroom, guests have their own downstairs lounge with three piece suite, tea/coffee making facilities, small TV, and a plethora of books to read.
The hosts, Brian and Joan Storey, are as friendly and accommodating as you will find anywhere. Joan in particular is communicative, thoughtful, and goes out of her way to please and assist- without being overbearing.
Although evening meals are not offered, Joan will cook whatever you choose for breakfast. Apart from fruit juice, yoghurts, and cereal, there is a large home grown fresh fruit salad for starter- comprising strawberries, loganberries, and blue berries. Delicious. The cooked breakfast is local produce, consisting of egg, bacon, sausages, black pudding, mushrooms, and tomatoes. Likewise delicious.
Outside there is a lovely front garden and a side lawn c/w one piece table and twin seats- where smokers can have a cigarette.

Evening Meal.
The nearest location is the village of Thropton about three miles away- or Rothbury which is twice that distance.
Luckily, Thropton's pub, The Three Wheatheads ( an old Northumbrian word for Village Idiots), offers bar/restaurant food second to none. For about £10-12 per head, the food is plentiful and top quality. You can eat inside or outside, and I should strongly advise going nowhere else.

Summary.
If you want peace, isolation, good food, and lovely hosts- then do not hesitate to stay here. The cottage has been beautifully renovated in 'old farmhouse style' and, though not offering the extensive facilities of large hotels, it does provide a tremendous rustic holiday for £35.00 per person per night ( inc. breakfast).
I should add that the whole area- and especially the coastline- is fantastic for walkers. .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John193Nuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at East Hepple Farmhouse more than once and have looked forward to my return visits with childlike enthusiasm. I really enjoy breakfast served in the porch area overlooking the fields and hills. You couldn't ask for a better start to your day. Perfect hosts, perfect accommodation and in a stunning location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happywalker1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at East Hepple Farm with my Mother and sister for 3 nights in June - just before the apocalyptic rain began! Our first trip to Northumberland was made all the more delightful in our choice to stay at East Hepple Farm. The views out over the Coquetdale Valley are simply breathtaking, and the B&B itself is a vision of rustic charm. Without a doubt, the best B&B I've ever stayed in! Our own private living area (an antiquarian's paradise) was beautifully equipped, the rooms were extremely comfortable and Joan's breakfasts were amazing. Joan and Brian were wonderful hosts, and have a B&B to be proud of... It was heart-wrenching to leave, but we will undoubtedly be back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Everything jokskot says, plus there's wifi, and they'll even give you a lift to nearby restaurants so you don't have to drink and drive. This is a beautiful part of the country, which I've never visited before - I'll certainly be back, and this is the place I'll stay when I do so.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveInKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

We stayed here, for the second time, for two nights in early July 2007. The property is well away from any urban centre but on a little used B road between Rothbury and Otterburn. The property is quiet with excellent views over the Coquet Valley.
The guest accommodation consists of a comfortable sitting area with a couple of easy chairs and a sofa and a lovely gas fired "cooking range". There is a wide selection of books and magazines reflecting the owners' interests. There is direct access to the outside from this room. A wooden staircase ascends from the sitting room into a bedroom with en suite facilities and a storage cupboard. Excellent breakfasts are served in a south facing porch/ conservatory and full British and Craster kippers as well as Continental breakfasts are on offer. Home grown, home made and locally sourced fruits, jams etc are provided where possible. The owner, Joan, is a delight with suggestions of places worth visiting in the area.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jokskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
2.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
10.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.2 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#12 of 32 in Morpeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Beresford Arms
The Beresford Arms
#1 of 1 in Whalton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
17.2 mi away
St Mary's Inn
St Mary's Inn
#1 of 32 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
16.6 mi away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#5 of 32 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hepple Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hepple Farmhouse

Property: East Hepple Farmhouse
Address: Hepple, Morpeth NE65 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Hepple Farmhouse overlooks the River Coquet with splendid views across the valley to the Simonside Hills. Ideally situated to enjoy the tranquillity of beautiful Coquetdale yet within easy distance of the many castles, gardens, historic houses and the lovely coastline of Northumberland. We offer a double bedroom with private bathroom and sitting room, a twin-bedded room with en-suite shower and we serve a full breakfast using locally sourced and home grown produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Hepple Farmhouse Morpeth, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing