We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for any trip to Northumberland”
Review of Cottingburn House

Cottingburn House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottingburn House
Ranked #11 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay for any trip to Northumberland”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hospitable welcome, Tim and Vera very welcoming and made our stay a real pleasure,great service and wonderful breakfasts. Bedrooms spotless and comfortable. Good location within easy walk to town centre and a good centre for exploring the wonderful coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
18
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I can fully recommend this B&B. Tim and Vera were very friendly and made me feel right at home. Breakfast was very good. The room was also good and fit for purpose. Not very large, but travelling solo it had all I needed. A bed, a sink and cupboard, etc. The shower facilities were clean and good. If I would come to Morpeth again I would definitely stay here again. A bonus was Tim tips on a gluten free diet and his home-mode gluten free bread

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulZw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

It was such a pleasure staying at Cottingburn and I would highly recommend it!!! Vera and Tim were fabulous and friendly hosts which made my stay delightful. They were there to meet me on arrival and were always on hand to give friendly and helpful advice. I was there for several weeks and the service was excellent and professional throughout with a very lovely, airy room full of character and always spotless. It's great value considering it's a 3 star establishment! The double bed was very, very comfortable and I slept like a baby throughout. The B&B is very conveniently located close to the town centre, which is just a short walk away. I took lots of evening walks and it's very safe and quiet. All in all it has a cosy homely atmosphere with shelves full of books and I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fara-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked because room was described as spacious but we had great difficulty even opening one suitcase at a time on the floor. In fact it was very difficult even getting our cases into the room. £126 for two nights was, in our opinion, poor value for money. As the rooms are so close together, it was difficult to get to sleep. People arriving back, opening their room door and then letting it bang shut plus, although we thought it was a bungalow, there was someone overhead walking about at 1am in the morning. I could hear snoring from the next room.
The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: If we hadn't paid in advance we wouldn't have stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Got a discount booking online. Convenient location at top of city centre, 30 minute walk to the train station. Totally silent at night, couldn't hear any traffic. Breakfast fruit was picked in the owner's allotment the previous afternoon. Room was ready despite me booking only two hours in advance. Room was a funny shape resulting in it being clumsy and having less space than their should have been, but was lovely. Robe provided to reach tiny bathroom across the hall. WiFi was good until signal disappeared in middle of night. Vegetarian breakfast cooked from 7AM. Offered to dry my wet clothes. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HairyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Not only is this accommodation great - clean, comfy bed, very easy to book etc but the hosts are amazing. Not only above and beyond when it comes to being helpful and friendly but also very interesting. The breakfast was great too! If I'm in the area again will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed two nights on a personal recommendation and was not disappointed. Comfortable, spotless room with piping hot electric shower, lovely hosts Vera and Tim, and excellent breakfasts (a choice of several styles), all made with local ingredients.Will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.5 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottingburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottingburn House

Property: Cottingburn House
Address: 40 Bullers Green, Morpeth NE61 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Cottingburn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottingburn House Morpeth, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing