We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottingburn House

Cottingburn House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottingburn House
Ranked #13 of 32 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

After spending many hours on the internet and reading the reviews of many bed and breakfasts in Northumberland I chose Cottington Burn House, it look very pleasant and as I was travelling alone I thought it would be ideal. When arriving at Cottingburn House after traveling for 9 and a half hours I parked where I thought would be suitable until I checked in, when a gentleman came out and rudely shouted my name and told me to move my car! He then very rudely told me I was very late as I had said I would be there at 4.30 and had I had been another 5 minutes I would not have been able to stay! After explaining I had been stuck in traffic this still didn't seem except able and he was quite abrupt with me, his wife then came and greeted me and explained that she had phoned the care home where my father was! To see where I was which I found quite rude and out of order as I had not even been there as I went straight to the b&b. I was shown to my room which at first looked reasonable! But I was in a rush to visit my father so basically just dropped my bag and went out. When I returned later I looked around the room and was very disappointed with it as it was very dirty, left on the bedside table was a used nail file, the bathroom was dirty and grubby, there was a slug by the decking area door which I know can happen but he looked as though he'd been there a few days. The only good point of the room was the bedding was spotless. I went for breakfast in the morning and Waited in the conservatory to be seated it was very dirty and no way up to a three star b&b I left and phoned to cancel my other 2 nights which to be fair they did refund me but I would not recommend Cottington Burn House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    19
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
17
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely B&B, wonderful couple and anything you wanted just had to ask, very obliging. Rooms very clean and cosy.
Set close enough to the town centre but away from it all at the same time.
Happy to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Cottingburn House B&B for 4 days in June, and enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms look exactly as the photos on the website: basic, but the package for the price you pay is excellent: the B&B has unlimited free wi-fi, free secure (CCTV monitored) off street car park, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast (there’s a menu to choose from and the B&B has Breakfast Award from Visit Britain) and even fruit basket for guests to use at any time. We stayed in a twin en suite room which has its own exit to the deck which overlooks the burn and mature trees.

The B&B is run by a nice family - Tim and Vera, who try their best to meet all their guests’ needs, nothing is a problem! We were very touched that Tim, even on crutches he has to use, offered his help with our luggage! We will stay again if in this area and highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I can highly recommend staying at Cottingburn House which is run by a really lovely couple. A Bed & Breakfast should offer friendly service, good value and basic but clean and nice lodgings - all boxes ticked and great location too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just an overnight stay, but the room and bathroom were spotless, having our own area of decking was a lovely bonus, and the breakfast (with home made sourdough bread and jam) was wonderful. Tim and Vera are excellent hosts. We just wish it could have been a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Staying at this lovely bed and breakfast was a pleasure. The owners Vee and Tim are so welcoming and provide a personal service. Helped me with a surprise gift for my girlfriend too! Had a very restful sleep in the comfortable and clean double ensuite room. Please do consider this ideally situated place as they are always on hand to help with your requirements and a friendly chat. Breakfast is included to your requirements too. You are able to have access as you need with no restrictions. Very highly recommended! Looking forward to my next visit :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ameet_Chohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I can recommend this B&B. The welcome was very friendly and informative, as I am gluten free they made sure the staff were aware and I had gluten free bread for breakfast. The accommodation is on a busy road but the secondary glazing cut out all the noise, so a peaceful nights sleep. It is also a short walk into the town so no noise. I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
0.4 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#12 of 32 in Morpeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
St Mary's Inn
St Mary's Inn
#1 of 32 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 32 in Morpeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottingburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottingburn House

Property: Cottingburn House
Address: 40 Bullers Green, Morpeth NE61 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Cottingburn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottingburn House Morpeth, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing